Super Rugby

Sharks make six changes for Chiefs




The Sharks have named a team with a number of key changes for their Super Rugby match against the Chiefs at Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth.

Regular Sharks captain Tendai Mtawarira has been rested for this week as per the Springbok requirements and he is one of six changes.

In last week’s victory over the Highlanders Cobus Reinach was injured and he has been replaced by Michael Claassens.

This also opens a place on the bench for Stefan Ungerer who joined the squad in New Zealand this week.

Philip van der Walt was also injured last week so Daniel du Preez reverts to the number eight position.

With Beast being rested there is a new front row with Dale Chadwick coming in for Mtawarira and Franco Marais making way for Kyle Cooper and then Lourens Adriaanse and Coenie Oosthuizen swapping jerseys.

“The win against the Highlanders was a great confidence boost for the players. I’m proud of the fight and immense character they showed to grind out the win,” said Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold

“We are playing the best team in New Zealand this Friday and it’s going to be a massive game for us. Throughout this season they’ve shown their brilliance on attack and if you make a mistake, they will pounce on it and hurt you. We have a huge amount of respect for them and are under no illusions about the enormity of the challenge.

“We have an opportunity to create history in New Zealand this Friday, and we need to be clinical and take our chances. Discipline is going to be key and we need to stay grounded. ”

“We believe we have the balance of the team right with the energy and exuberance of youth in players such as Daniel, Jean-Luc, Garth and Hyron, as well as the experience of seasoned campaigners like Keegan, Michael, Odwa, Jean and JP.”


15. Willie le Roux , 14. JP Pietersen , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Garth April , 9. Michael Claassens , 8. Daniel du Preez , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , 6. Keegan Daniel (C) , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements : 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Coenie Oosthuizen , 19. Hyron Andrews , 20. Jean Deysel , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Joe Pietersen , 23. Odwa Ndungane

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.