New-look backline for Reds




Ben Tune’s come back has been made complete after being granted a starting position in the QR Queensland Reds team to play the Cheetahs on Friday night.

Tune’s inclusion at outside centre is just one of a number of changes in the backline that coach Jeff Miller has made to cover the retirement of Elton Flatley and Chris Latham’s rib injury.

Julian Huxley’s solid form has seen him take the number 12 jersey as Berrick Barnes returns from injury to play flyhalf.

Drew Mitchell switches from wing to fullback and Henari Veratau comes back into the team on the wing.

Tune said he was mostly feeling relief since being given the news of his call up.

“There were a number of times towards the end of last year after I had some more surgery I didn’t quite know whether or not I’d make it back on to the paddock so just to be running around again is a good feeling.”

Latham’s absence gives Mitchell an opportunity to play in his preferred position of fullback.

“First of all Chris Latham missing this match is a big blow for Queensland rugby and I guess although I’m filling his position you can never really fill the role of a Chris Latham,” Mitchell said.

“In saying that, I’m not going out to try to play his game. I just want to concentrate on playing my game and fullback’s my preferred position so hopefully I can’ have a pretty positive impact on the match.”

Mitchell regularly trains at fullback and doesn’t feel any extra pressure on him ahead of this match.

“I’d hope that people wouldn’t expect me to be able to play like a Chris Latham because, I mean let’s be honest, the guy’s a bit of a freak. He’s got that ability to pull something from nothing in any time of the game.”

The team travels to Bloemfontein on Wednesday.

Reds team to play the Cheetahs:

1. Greg Holmes
2. Stephen Moore
3. Rodney Blake
4. Mark Connors
5. James Horwill
6. Mitchell Chapman
7. David Croft
8. John Roe
9. Sam Cordingley
10. Berrick Barnes
11. Peter Hynes
12. Julian Huxley
13. Ben Tune
14. Henari Veratau
15. Drew Mitchell

16. Sean Hardman
17. Anthony Mathison
18. Cameron Treloar
19. Tom McVerry
20. Josh Valentine
21. Lloyd Johansson
22. Caleb Brown

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.