Rugby Championship News

New Wallaby coach Deans names 7 new players in Squad





New Wallabies coach Robbie Deans didn’t wait long to make changes to Australia’s rugby team, naming seven rookies Monday in a 30-man training squad for the June 14 test against Ireland.
The squad is likely to remain largely the sasme for the TriNations in July.

Waratahs Luke Burgess, Dean Mumm and Lachie Turner join Western Force duo Ryan Cross and Richard Brown, Reds winger Peter Hynes and rookie Brumbies prop Ben Alexander as the uncapped players in the squad.

Deans, a New Zealander, led the Crusaders to their seventh Super 14 title on Saturday, beating the Waratahs 20-12. There were 13 Waratahs players named Monday.

The Reds had six players in the squad, including the oldest, 32-year-old Sam Cordingley.
The Brumbies also had six players while five were taken from the Perth-based Force.

Stirling Mortlock retained the Wallabies captaincy.

Several players from last year’s World Cup squad were not considered because of injury – Dan Vickerman, Chris Latham, Drew Mitchell, Scott Staniforth, Hugh McMeniman and Greg Holmes.

Vickerman will be sidelined for six weeks due to an ankle injury requiring surgery.

After flying into Sydney on Monday to take up his new position, Deans said he was looking forward to his team’s first training session Tuesday at Manly Oval.

“There are a lot of new faces in this squad, in both the playing ranks and the coaching staff,” said Deans.
“Our ultimate goal is the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand, but that is a long way into the future. In the interim there is a lot of hard work to be done.”
Australia will play 14 tests this year.
Australia squad:
Ben Alexander, Al Baxter, Richard Brown, Mark Chisholm, Matt Dunning, Rocky Elsom, Adam Freier, Stephen Hoiles, James Horwill, Stephen Moore, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Paul, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson, Nathan Sharpe, George Smith, Phil Waugh.
 Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Luke Burgess, Sam Cordingley, Ryan Cross, Matt Giteau, Peter Hynes, Digby Ioane, Stirling Mortlock, Brett Sheehan, Cameron Shepherd, Lote Tuqiri, Lachie Turner.

Sapa-AP –

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.