New Zealand v Australia TRC Match Preview



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Australia’s Wallabies have lost their last 13 straight matches against New Zealand’s All Blacks at Auckland’s Eden Park which is the venue for this week’s Rugby Championship match.

While Australia have won two out of the last five matches against New Zealand they have not won in Auckland against the All Blacks since 1986 which was before the first Rugby World Cup (1987).

Last week the Wallabies were outplayed in the first half and although they stepped up in the second half they were still only able to match the All Blacks in the second half on the scoreboard.

In order to turn things around the Wallabies have brought back playmaker Quade Cooper and moved Berrick Barnes to 12. Drew Mitchell has also been named on the wing and Kurtley Beale – who had something of a shocker – has been replaced by Adam Ashley-Cooper.

The Wallabies had yet to name their replacements at the time of writing so Beale may still come on as an impact player with the likes of Radike Samo.

New Zealand on the other hand were happy with their performance last week and have made one injury enforced change with Wyatt Crockett coming in for the injured Tony Woodcock.

The All Blacks have played the Wallabies 144 times and have won 98 times which means that they have won 68 % of their matches against the Wallabies.

The overall average score when the All Blacks play the Wallabies is New Zealand 20 Australia 14.

At home in New Zealand the All Blacks have played the Wallabies 66 times and won 50 times, drawn once and lost 15 times. That works out to a winning percentage of 76% for the All Blacks.

In New Zealand the average score when the teams meet is New Zealand 20 and Australia 12.

While New Zealand have not lost to Australia at Eden Park in their last 13 matches at the venue the All Blacks have also won the last 13 matches against Australia in New Zealand as they last Australian victory at any NZ venue was in 2001.

At this week’s venue the All Blacks have played the Wallabies 23 times and won 19 times. That means that between 1931 and the current day the All Blacks have only lost four times to Australia.

The average score when the teams play at Eden Park is new Zealand 22 Australia 14 and New Zealand have won 83 % of their matches at the venue against Australia.

The Bookies have given Australia a big 15 point start for this match – with an offer of Bet 5 and Get 50 in Bets. We expect the Wallabies to be a better team this week. We also expect the All Blacks to be a better as though. We think the All Blacks should win by 18 points.

This match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 1 HD.

Average score: New Zealand 20 Australia 14

Last five results
18 Aug 2012 New Zealand v Australia 27-19 Stadium Australia, Sydney
16 Oct 2011 New Zealand v Australia 20-6 Eden Park, Auckland
27 Aug 2011 New Zealand v Australia 20-25 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
06 Aug 2011 New Zealand v Australia 30-14 Eden Park, Auckland
30 Oct 2010 New Zealand v Australia 24-26 Hong Kong Stadium

New Zealand’s overall record against Australia
Played 144 , Wins 98 , Losses 41 , Draws 5

Match :New Zealand v Australia
25 Aug
Venue :
Eden Park, Auckland
Kick Off local: 19:35
N. Owens (WRU)
Assistant Ref 1:
A. Rolland (IRFU)
Assistant Ref 2:L.
Van Der Merwe (SARU)
B. Skeen (NZRU)


New Zealand

1. Wyatt Crockett, 2. Keven Mealamu, 3. Owen Franks, 4. Luke Romano, 5. Samuel Whitelock, 6. Liam Messam, 7. Richie McCaw, 8. Kieran Read, 9. Aaron Smith, 10. Daniel Carter, 11. Hosea Gear, 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 13. Ma’a Nonu, 14. Cory Jane, 15. Israel Dagg.

Replacements: 16. Andrew Hore, 17. Ben Franks, 18. Brodie Retallick, 19. Victor Vito, 20. Piri Weepu, 21. Aaron Cruden, 22. Ben Smith.


15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. Drew Mitchell, 13. Rob Horne, 12. Berrick Barnes, 11. Digby Ioane, 10. Quade Cooper, 9. Will Genia, 8. Scott Higginbotham, 7. Michael Hooper, 6. Dave Dennis, 5. Nathan Sharpe, 4. Sitaleki Timani, 3. Ben Alexander, 2. Tatafu Polota Nau, 1. Benn Robinson.

Replacements: 16. Saia Fainga’a ,17. James Slipper ,18. Radike Samo ,19. Liam Gill ,20. Nick Phipps ,21. Anthony Fainga’a ,22. Kurtley Beale

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.