Super Rugby

Ngatai and Harris return for Chiefs clash with Reds


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Hamilton Super Rugby franchise the Chiefs have named their team to play the Reds in a Trans-Tasman clash this weekend at at Yarrow Stadium in New Plymouth.

Midfielder Charlie Ngatai makes his return to Super Rugby this weekend and will start at second five-eighth against the Reds.

It’s a fitting venue for the 26-year-old to make his comeback in front of thousands of fans, many of whom have also enjoyed Ngatai’s thrilling performances for his provincial team Taranaki.

The humble midfielder is not the only exciting addition to the Chiefs this week, with All Black hooker Nathan Harris being named in the reserves.

The 25-year old has diligently worked his way back from a knee injury sustained in August 2016 to make his first appearance this season.

Anticipating a combative and astute Reds side, Chiefs head coach Dave Rennie has named an experienced and motivated playing 23.

There are eight changes to the starting fifteen that defeated the Sunwolves 27-20 to record their eighth win of the season last Saturday. In the forwards, Brodie Retallick returns to the side as the sole change to the tight five.

There’s a reshuffle in the loose forwards with co-captain Sam Cane shifting from number 8 to openside flanker. Mitchell Brown is promoted from the bench to start at blindside flanker, and Michael Leitch returns to the 23 to start at number 8.

A dangerous backline awaits the Reds, with five All Blacks named to start. Tawera Kerr-Barlow returns to re-establish his partnership with co-captain Aaron Cruden in jerseys 9 and 10 respectively.

Charlie Ngatai links up with Anton Lienert-Brown to form a formidable midfield combination, with James Lowe, Toni Pulu and Damian McKenzie completing the backline at 11, 14 and fullback.

Brad Weber, Mitchell Graham, Glen Fisiiahi, Tim Nanai-Williams, Liam Polwart, James Tucker and Finlay Christie were all unavailable for selection.


1. Kane Hames , 2. Hika Elliot, 3. Nepo Laulala, 4. Dominic Bird, 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Mitchell Brown , 7. Sam Cane (co-captain) , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden (co-captain) , 11. James Lowe, 12. Charlie Ngatai, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown , 14. Toni Pulu , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Nathan Harris , 17. Atu Moli , 18. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi , 19. Taleni Seu, 20. Liam Messam, 21. Jonathan Taumateine, 22. Sam McNicol , 23. Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.