Super Rugby

Ngatai to lead Chiefs against Stormers




Chiefs Super Rugby head coach Colin Cooper has named Charlie Ngatai to captain his team to play the Stormers in Cape Town.

The Chiefs are coming off a loss last weekend to the Jaguares in Rotorua so will be keen to turn things around.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

It is always an intriguing battle in Cape Town – the teams last met in the Quarter Final of last year’s competition, where the away side were victorious 17-11.

Colin Cooper is taking the learnings from the Jaguares game and is excited about the focus the team has shown.

“We took a lot of learnings from the Jaguares, particularly on our attack. We know what to expect from the Stormers, and have been focussed this week. The team travelled smoothly and have come over here wanting to do really well.”

Sam Cane is rested at home with an abdominal strain but Head Coach Colin Cooper is pleased for the opportunity it presents others.

“Losing Sam Cane is always going to be a loss for any team, but alongside Sam is the leadership group led by Charlie Ngatai. It has given an opportunity for a number of young men to step up and come into this contest in South Africa, which is exciting for them, and for us coaches to watch.”

In the forwards, Cooper has brought All Blacks Nathan Harris and Brodie Retallick back into the starting line-up, moving Tyler Ardron from lock into the number 8 jersey.

In the backline, both Brad Weber and Anton Lienert-Brown will start in their 50th games for the Chiefs.

“Getting to 50 games for each of these two men is a good reward for their commitment to the Chiefs Rugby Club for a number of years. Both have displayed Chiefs Mana each time they’ve played, and it is great to be involved with them as a coach.”

Johnny Faauli returns to the side, and the exciting Shaun Stevenson comes back from an injury sustained against the Blues in the second round.


15 Charlie Ngatai (captain), 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Johnny Fa’auli, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Liam Messam, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Michael Allardice, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe

Replacements: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.