Nonu named in Highlanders team to face Chiefs


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Highlanders head coach Jamie Joseph has named Ma’a Nonu as one of six players set to make their debut in the team to face the Chiefs at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin on Friday.

Three players in Tony Woodcock, Joe Wheeler and Ma’a Nonu will make their starting debut for the Highlanders.

Liam Coltman, Fumiaki Tanaka and Hayden Parker have been named on the bench and if they come on during the match it will be their Super Rugby debut as well.

The Highlanders high profile signing Brad Thorn has been left out of the team sheet due to injury and he is expected to be available next week.


1. Tony Woodcock , 2. Brayden Mitchell , 3. Ma’afu Fia , 4. Jarrad Hoeata (vc) , 5. Josh Bekhuis , 6. Joe Wheeler , 7. John Hardie , 8. Nasi Manu , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Hosea Gear (c) , 12. Ma’a Nonu , 13. Phil Burleigh , 14. Kade Poki , 15. Ben Smith

Replacements :16. Liam Coltman , 17. Bronson Murray , 18. Elliot Dixon , 19. Tim Boys , 20. Fumiaki Tanaka , 21. Hayden Parker , 22. Buxton Popoalii

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.