Nutbrown to Start in Chiefs v Brumbies Clash



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Jamie Nutbrown will start at halfback for the Chiefs when they take on the Brumbies in Round Seven of the Rebel Sport Super 14 this Saturday in Canberra.

Up and coming halfback Brendon Leonard, who has been a regular member of the Chiefs Wider Training Squad this season, is named on the bench to cover the halfback spot.

Chiefs coach Ian Foster has opted to rest Byron Kelleher from this weekend’s match.

‘Byron has travelled to the United States this week due to a family bereavement, he only returns to New Zealand today. His ribs are also still very tender from knocks in recent games. We felt it was best to give him a rest,’ says Foster.

Meanwhile, Sosene Anesi, winger and recent Commonwealth Games gold medalist, returns to the Chiefs line-up this weekend. He received a medical clearance late yesterday to play, following a heavy knock to his head sustained during the New Zealand Sevens’ team’s campaign in Melbourne last week.

In the forwards, Deacon Manu, Tom Willis and Ben Castle make up the Chiefs front row. Chiefs captain Jono Gibbes will lock alongside Bernie Upton, and the regular Chiefs loose forward trio of Steven Bates, Marty Holah and Sione Lauaki will take to the field on Saturday in Canberra.

Chiefs coach Ian Foster says the team clearly understands the size of the task ahead of them this week when taking on the Brumbies at home in Canberra.

‘We are looking forward to the match, especially after coming off a bye week. We have a real desire to continue our growth as a team this weekend.’

The Chiefs v Brumbies match will be played on Saturday 25 March at Canberra Stadium in Canberra. Kick off is 5.30pm (NZ time).

The Chiefs team is:

1. Deacon Manu
2. Tom Willis
3. Ben Castle
4. Jono Gibbes (captain)
5. Bernie Upton
6. Steven Bates
7. Marty Holah
8. Sione Lauaki
9. Jamie Nutbrown
10.Stephen Donald
11.Sitiveni Sivivatu
12.Sam Tuitupou
13.Mark Ranby
14.Sosene Anesi
15.Mils Muliaina

Reserves: Simms Davison, Aleki Lutui, Sean Hohneck, Kristian Ormsby, Brendon Leonard, David Hill, Loki Crichton.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.