Super Rugby

Penney tinkers with Waratahs for Blues clash




Waratahs Super rugby head coach Rob Penney has named his matchday squad for his side’s first Super Rugby clash on home soil for 2020.

The NSW Waratahs are headed to McDonald Jones Stadium – their second visit to the Hunter in as many seasons – taking on the Auckland Blues.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

It’s a largely unchanged side for Penney, with Newcastle product, Harry Johnson-Holmes named after recovering from an illness that sidelined him in Round 1.

Jack Dempsey replaces Jed Holloway at no.8, with the backline unchanged.

Chris Talakai and Carlo Tizzano have been omitted, with Faulkner and Holloway returning to he reserves.

New recruit, Tepai Moeroa is in line for a Super Rugby debut after also being named on the bench.


15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Tom Robertson

Replacments: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Ryan McCauley, 20 Jed Holloway, 21 Tepai Moeroa, 22 Mitch Short, 23 Jack Maddocks

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.