Super Rugby

Perenara returns for Hurricanes against Stormers




Hurricanes Hurricanes head coach Chris Boyd has named his Super Rugby team to play the Stormers at Westpac Stadium on Friday and included halfback TJ Perenara as captain.

Callum Gibbins starts at openside for the Hurricanes in this week’s match and is one of just two personnel changes made to the to the side that started against the Brumbies in Napier a fortnight ago.

Perenara, who was on the bench before the team’s second bye round, switches places with Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, and reclaims the captaincy from Brad Shields.

Shields led the side for the first time during the 56-21 win over the Brumbies.

Gibbins comes back into the starting side for Blade Thomson, whose season appears over following a dislocated shoulder in Napier, meaning Ardie Savea shifts back to No.8 for the fourth time this season.

The reshuffle in the loose forwards means Reed Prinsep comes back into the match day 23.

Boyd said it would be a big mistake to take the South African Conference 1 leading Stormers lightly despite recent heavy losses to the Crusaders and Highlanders.

“It was only a few weeks ago that they beat the Chiefs in Cape Town and were on a six match winning streak, so we know they are a very good side.

“They’ve had a couple of results they’ll be disappointed with in the past two weeks in New Zealand and I think they will be highly motivated to put a good performance on the park against us in Wellington.”

Before beating the Chiefs, the Stormers had rolled over the Bulls, Jaguares, Kings, Sunwolves and Cheetahs to start their season.

Last time the Hurricanes played the Stormers was during round eight of the 2015 season when they snuck home 25-20 at Westpac Stadium. The clubs did not play each other in 2016.


15   Jordie Barrett,14   Cory Jane,13   Vince Aso,12   Ngani Laumape,11   Julian Savea,10   Beauden Barrett,9  TJ Perenara (c ),8  Ardie Savea,7  Callum Gibbins,6  Brad Shields,5  Vaea Fifita,4  Mark Abbott,3  Jeffery To’omaga-Allen,2  Ricky Riccitelli,1  Ben May

Replacements: 16   Leni Apisai,17   Chris Eves,18   Mike Kainga,19   James Blackwell,20   Reed Prinsep,21   Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi,22   Otere Black,23   Ben Lam

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.