Pumas - za

Pumas change three for Griquas in Currie Cup





Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse has made three changes to his starting line-up for their Currie Cup rugby match against Griquas in Nelspruit on Friday.

The team suffered a major setback after centre Pieter Engelbrecht broke his ankle in last weekend’s 22-23 loss to the Sharks at the Mbombela Stadium.

With Engelbreght out of action Coenie van Wyk will move from the bench into the pivot position while last week’s run-on flyhalf Tiaan Marx will move to the vacant centre position.

Another change to the team that was announced on Wednesday sees former Lions and Leopards player Shandre Frollick come in at wing in the place of the injured Ashwin Scott.

Stonehouse made one tactical switch to the forwards with prop Dawie Steyn replacing De-Jay Terblanche in the front row with the latter moving to the bench.

Johan Jackson has been drafted into the side as a utility back replacement.

Pumas team:

MJ Mentz, Deon Scholtz, JW Jonker, Tiaan Marx, Shandre Frollick, Coenie van Wyk, Shaun Venter, Doppies le Roux, Jaco Bouwer, Corne Steenkamp (captain), Marius Coetzer, Boela Serfontein, Ashley Buys, Pellow van der Westhuizen, Dawie Steyn.

Replacements: Torsten van Jaarsveld, De-Jay Terblanche, Eduan van der Walt, RW Kember, Tian Meyer, Johan Jackson, Carl Bezuidenhout.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.