Currie Cup

Pumas start with the same Currie Cup team




Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The Pumas have made only one change to the bench for their vital promotion-relegation match against the Boland Cavaliers in Witbank on Friday night. Jacques Coetzee’s understudy, reserve scrumhalf Hendrik van der Nest has been axed for Juan Visser.

The Starting XV which narrowly lost to the Boland in the first fixture was retained for the return match.

Hooker Hannes Franklin and his team have to beat Boland by more than seven points and keep the visitors from scoring four tries to advance to next year’s Premier Division.

Van der Nest hasn’t fully recovered from his leg injury and Visser, who plays most of his rugby in the midfield, gives the Pumas more options, particularly with only two backs on the bench.

The Boland have made three changes to their side for the Witbank fixture, with a change at scrumhalf where Danie van der Merwe replaces Marnus Hugo, at number eight where Junior Bester returns and on the wing where they had to accommodate Hayden Groepes.

Groepes was initially selected to play fullback in the Wellington fixture but was replaced by Justin Peach, who retains his number 15-jersey.

It will be Peach and his opposite number, MJ Mentz’s final fixture for their respective provinces.
Peach moves on to the Elephants and Mentz has landed a SA Sevens contract.


MJ Mentz; Braam Pretorius, Shaun Venter, Hyron Thysse, Allister Ketteldas; Tiaan Marx, Jacques Coetzee; Doppies le Roux, Pieter Meyer, Jaco Bouwer, Marius Coetzer, Eduaan van der Walt, Ashley Buys, Hannes Franklin (capt), Ronnie Uys.

Reserves: Corn Steenkamp, Dawie Steyn, Dee-Jay Terblanche, Savage van Heerden, Martin Sithole, Juan Visser, Ashwin Scott.


Justin Peach; Deon Scholtz, Cornal Hendricks, PJ Vermeulen, Hayden Groepes; Elgar Watts, Danie van der Merwe; Junior Bester, Hilton Lobberts, Zandré Jordaan, Rito Hlungwane (capt), George Earle, Jacobie Adriaanse, Harry Vermaas, Janro van Niekerk.

Reserves: Clemen Lewis, Michael de Neuilly-Rice, Angelo Brinkhuys, David Hendricks, Marnus Hugo, Dewey Swartbooi, Danré Gerber.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.