Super Rugby

Queensland Reds beat NSW Waratahs in Brisbane




The Queensland Reds have won four of their last five Super Rugby matches against the NSW Waratahs (L1), including their last three in succession; they had lost each of their 11 meetings prior to that span.

The Queensland Reds have won their last two Super Rugby matches at home against the Waratahs; the last time they enjoyed a longer winning run against them on home soil was a three-match span from April 2011 to February 2013.

  • New South Wales have won each of their last two Super Rugby matches; the last time they won more than two consecutive games in the competition was a three-match span from June to July in 2018.
  • The Reds will be looking to avoid back-to-back defeats against Australian opponents in Super Rugby for the first time since August 2020, following a 16-12 loss to the Brumbies in their most recent derby (Round 5, 2022 Super Rugby Pacific).
  • NSW have won their last two Super Rugby matches against fellow Australian opposition; the last time they won more than two consecutive Australian derbies was a three-match span from April to May in 2019.
  • Queensland has made 19 tackles resulting in a turnover won this Super Rugby Pacific season, six more than any other team in the competition and 11 more than the NSW Waratahs (8).
  • Brad Thorn’s side has scored six tries in the final quarter of games this Super Rugby Pacific season, the second-most of any team in the competition, five more than last-ranked Tahs (1).

Player to watch

  • Ben Donaldson has logged 267 kick metres per game in the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season, the second-most of any player in the competition behind Crusaders’ Richie Mo’unga (305m).
  • James O’Connor has been directly involved in six tries in his last six games (1 try, 5 assists), and he has also been directly involved in six tries in his last five matches against the Waratahs (1 try, 5 assists).
  • Will Harris has crossed for a try in four of his five appearances in the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific competition after having scored just two tries in all his 13 games in Super Rugby competitions prior.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway in Queensland for this ultimate grudge match between the Reds and Waratahs.

3.00: Waratahs have won a penalty and kicked to touch. The rain is pelting down again; it has rained in nearly every round of Super Rugby in Australia this season.

6.00: The rain is causing problems with the handling.

8.00: Lots of pressure being put on the hosts by the visitors, who are camped inside their half.

10.00: TRY! A sublime attack by the Tahs sees Alex Newsome and Mark Nawaqanitawase combine with two magic offloads to put Jack Grant in the corner for the game’s first try. 0-5

10.00: CONVERSION! Will Harrison converts from the corner flag. 0-7

13.00: Queensland needs to get their hands on the ball, it’s all NSW.

16.00: A lot of kicking in this weather as both teams look to play in ech other’s half; a famous, if clichéd tactic of rugby union.

18.00: Angus Blyth and James O’Connor are both stopped short of the Waratahs’ try line after some superb cover defending by the visitors.

19.00: O’Connor kicks a penalty to the corner. The Reds power towards the line, but are held up.

22.00: MISS! O’Connor misses from long distance. 0-7

24.00: PENALTY! O’Connor makes no mistake from almost the same spot as the previous penalty. 3-7

27.00: TRY! A 50/22 from O’Connor set up an attacking lineout near the NSW try line. The Reds set up the rolling maul before Tate McDermott broke to the left before darting over for his 18th Super Rugby try. 8-7

29.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 10-7

31.00: RED CARD! Dane Zander is sent off for a high tackle on good friend Ruan Smith. 10-7

32.00: PENALTY! Harrison levels. 10-10

35.00: Great defending from the Tahs to keep out the Reds near their try line despite being a man down.

37.00: Taniela Tupou puts Tetera Faulkner on his back after a massive scrum on the Tahs’ line.

38.00: PENALTY! McDermott opts for the points, O’Connor obliges. 13-10

39.00: Yellow CARD! McDermott slaps down the ball deliberately after a sneaky lineout move by the Tahs’ forwards. 13-10

41.00: Nothing comes of the final attack.

The halftime score was Queensland Reds 13 NSW Waratahs 10

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway in Queensland.

43.00: Waratahs have started strong, almost scoring but for a last ditch tackle.

47.00: PENALTY! Tane Edmed levels. 13-13

51.00: It’s all Tahs at the moment.

54.00: TRY! Taniela Tupou crashes over from close range. 18-13

56.00: CONVERSION! O’Connor makes no mistake. 20-13

59.00: Reds win their fourth scrum penalty, it allows them to clear their lines and set up in the Tahs’ half.

63.00: Reds opt to kick to the corner instead of taking the points.

66.00: TRY! Tupou went close before Fraser McReight shot right to score from the back of a ruck. 25-13

67.00: MISS! The kick is well wide. 25-13

69.00: TRY! Edmed’s pass is intercepted by Jock Campbell, who raced 70 metres untouched to score. 30-13

70.00: CONVERSION! Isaac Henry adds the extras. 32-13

73.00: time is almost up for any heroics by the Sydney men.

77.00: TRY! Tom Horton flops over for a late bonus point.

78.00: CONVERSION! Edmed adds the two. 32-20

81.00: NSW launched one more attack, but lose the ball because of a free-kick.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Reds 32 (13) Waratahs 20 (10)


Tries – McDermott, Tupou, McReight, Campbell
Pen – O’Connor (2)
Con – O’Connor (2), Henry
Drop –
Cards – Zander (Red, 31′), McDermott (Yellow, 39′)

Tries – Grant, Horton
Pen – Harrison, Edmed
Con – Harrison, Edmed
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: Reuben Keane
TMO: Brett Cronan


Queensland Reds: 15 Jordan Petaia, 14 Jock Campbell, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Josh Flook, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott (co-captain), 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Fraser McReight (co-captain), 6 Seru Uru, 5 Angus Blyth, 4 Ryan Smith, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Josh Nasser, 1 Dane Zander

Replacements: 16 Matt Faessler, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Feao Fotuaika, 19 Connor Vest, 20 Liam Wright, 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Lawson Creighton, 23 Isaac Henry

Waratahs: 15 Will Harrison, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Tane Edmed, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Will Harris, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Charlie Gamble, 5 Geoff Cridge, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Dave Porecki, 1 Tetera Faulkner

16 Tom Horton, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Archer Holz, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Langi Gleeson, 21 Teddy Wilson, 22 Dylan Pietsch, 23 Triston Reilly

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.