Super Rugby

Rebels make four changes for Stormers




Rebels Super rugby head coach David Wessels has named a team with four changes to the match day 23 for this Friday’s match against the Stormers in Melbourne.

Prop Sam Talakai, hooker Robbie Abel and lock Ross Haylett-Petty (pictured with the ball) have all been included in the starting forward pack, while Richard Hardwick will return to the squad as a replacement.

Wallabies winger Jack Maddocks and hooker Anaru Rangi have not been considered for selection due to suffering knee tendonitis and a rolled ankle respectively after the Rebels’ win over the Sunwolves.

Lock Matt Philip has also been sidelined with a bruised heel, while promising prop Pone Fa’amausili has been left out to face the Cape Town side.

When quizzed about his star winger’s injury, Wessels says the decision to rest Maddocks was made less difficult given the minor nature of the injury and by also having a ready-made replacement in fellow outside back Tupou.

“Jack’s got a bit of a grumbly knee with tendonitis in his patella, so we’ll just settle that down and he’ll be right to go next week,” Wessels said.

“Those decisions are made a lot easier when a guy like Semisi (Tupou) trains as well as he does and also plays well in the minutes he got against the Sunwolves, so he’s an exciting young prospect for us (and) we’re excited to see what Semisi brings.”

The Rebels will go into the match with star centre Billy Meakes, after the number 12 was cleared by the SANZAAR judicial committee after being cited for a hit on Sunwolves centre Jason Emery.

Wessels says Meakes’ clearance will help continue the backs combination which has helped the Melburnians sit atop of the Australian Conference.

“Bill’s a good organiser for us in that partnership between him, Quade (Cooper) and Tom English, which has really worked well and they’ve started to play off each other,” Wessels said.

“So we’re really pleased to be able to keep that combination going.”


15 Reece Hodge, 14 Semisi Tupou, 13 Tom English, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Angus Cottrell, 6 Luke Jones, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Sam Talakai, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Tetera Faulkner

Replacements : 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Jermaine Ainsley, 19 Esei Ha’angana, 20 Rob Leota, 21 Richard Hardwick, 22 Michael Ruru, 23 Campbell Magnay

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.