Super Rugby

Rebels unchanged for Hurricanes clash




Rebels head coach Tony McHagan has named an unchanged Super Rugby team to play the Hurricanes at AAMI Park in Melbourne on Friday.

The Rebels had a bye last week and have retained the starting team that earned a first ever victory over the Waratahs in Sydney.

Captain Nic Stirzaker has overcome a head knock which saw him substituted during the first half against the Waratahs while Sefa Naivalu’s return to Super Rugby from a broken leg continues with a second consecutive week on the reserves bench.

“Stability in a team is important for consistency and the extra week of rest has allowed us to pick an unchanged side for the Hurricanes,” McGahan said.

The win against the Waratahs before the bye was huge for the club but we need to capitalise on the result with another spirited performance against the Hurricanes to kick off an important three weeks for the Rebels.”

Flanker Scott Fuglistaller has been named as a replacement and will record his 50th Super Rugby appearance should he take the field against the Hurricanes on Friday.

Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Cam Crawford , 12. Mitch Inman , 13. Tamati Ellison , 14. Dom Shipperley , 15. Reece Hodge

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Jamie Hagan , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Scott Fuglistaller , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Dan Hawkins , 23. Sefa Naivalu

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.