Super Rugby

Rebels beat the Force in Melbourne




The final Super Rugby match in Round 14 is on Sunday in Melbourne where the Rebels host the Western Force at AAMI Park, Melbourne.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Force kick off and the match is underway.

1.00: The Rebels show they want to run the ball but they knock on. The Force win the scrum and run the ball and move the ball out to Dane Haylett-Petty who is tackled and knocks on.

3.00: The Western Force win a line out but they lose the ball forward in the maul.

7.00; Penalty to the Rebels for players leaving their feet. Mike Harris kicks for touch and the line out.

10.00: The Rebels win the line out and go through 11 phases. They knock on and Haylett-Petty kicks the ball into touch to clear.

11.00: The Rebels win the line out and they move the ball down the line, Mike Harris offloads and Reece Hodge races for the line and scores. TRY! He has now broken the record for the most Rebels tries in a rookie season. Harris limps off.

12.00: Hodge adds the conversion.

14.00: Penalty to the Force after the restart. Peter Grant takes the kick and nails it. The Force are on the board.

15.00: The Force get the advantage for a penalty so Peter Grant kicks the ball to the touchline, Luke Morahan gets to the ball, chips it further ahead and then regains the ball and goes in to score in the corner. TRY!

17.00: Grant misses the conversion from the touchline. The Force lead.

22.00: The Rebels go through 9 phases on attack in the Force’s 22. They are called back for a penalty as the referee was playing an advantage.

24.00: Hodge takes the penalty kick and nails it. The Rebels lead.

26.00: The Force get the ball on the half way line. They go through 5 phases and make ground on the Rebels but then lose the ball forward.

31.00: The Force are awarded a penalty for dangerous play – lifting in the maul. Peter Grant lines up the kick but just misses.

34.00; Penalty to the Rebels. Hodge will take a shot at the posts.

35.00: Hodge takes the shot – he has the distance but not the direction.

36.00: The Rebels get another penalty in a similar position. Hodge takes the shot and this time its the same. Distance but not direction.

39.00: The Rebels knock on in centrefield so the Force have a scrum.

40.00: The siren sounds and the Force win the scrum but when they go wide they are forced into touch.

Its’s half time.

The half time score is Rebels 10 Force 8

The Rebels kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Rebels get the perfect start. They go through 11 phases on attack in the Force’s half. They get into the Force’s 22 and pass out to Sefa Naivalu who scores in the corner. TRY!

42.00: The conversion is missed by Hodge.

45.00: The Force work the ball into the Rebels 22 they go through the phases but can’t get through. They are called back for a penalty as the referee was playing advantage. There is a break in play as Haylett-Petty has taken a knock.

47.00: The Force win the line out and use the maul. They drive towards the posts and then out the back of the maul Harry Scoble scrambles to the line and scores. TRY!

48.00: Peter Grant adds the conversion and the scores are level. Scoble is replaced.

51.00: Penalty to the Force. They kick to the corner. The Force win the line out just outside the Rebels 22. They work the ball to the Rebels 22 but its loose and slow ball. After 7 phases the Rebels get into the ruck and win a penalty.

53.00: The Rebels run the ball and Nic Stirzaker catches the Force napping. The Rebels run the ball over the half way line but the final pass is forward. Alby Mathewson is replaced by Francois Van Wyk.

58.00: The Rebels string together 11 phases and work the ball to the Force’s line. They use the pick and go on the 12 phase and Lopeti Timani goes over and scores. TRY!

59.00: Jack Debreczeni takes the conversion kick but hits the post.

62.00: The Rebels go on the attack again, they get into the Force’s 22 after 6 phases but the ball slows and goes dead. The Rebels get the scrum put in.

65.00: The Rebels win the scrum and Stirzaker passes the ball back to Naivalu who gets the ball at pace and slices through the Force and scores. TRY!

66.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion.

71.00: The Force work the ball into the Rebels 22. They keep the pressure on and Luke Morahan goes over to score. The TMO will check for obstruction. The TRY is awarded.

72.00;Peter Grant takes the conversion. He nails it from out wide.

74.00: There is a break in play as the TMO reviews some potential foul play involving Sean McMahon. The result is a warning for McMahon and a penalty for the Force for a high tackle.

75.00: The Force take the line out option and kick for touch.

77.00: The Force win the line out but knock on. The Rebels feed the scrum and win it. The pass out the ball goes to ground which slows the attack.

78.00: Out of the middle of the field Jonah Placid slices through the Force and he chips ahead and the Rebels chase but when they get to the 5m line the Rebels concede a penalty.The Force kick for touch to clear.

79.000: The Force win the line out and run the ball. They infringe though and concede a penalty.

80.00: Debreczeni kicks the ball into touch and that is it. The Rebels have won.

The full time score is Rebels 27 (10) Force 22 (8) 


Tries – R.Hodge, S.Naivalu 2, L.Timani
Pen – R.Hodge
Con – R.Hodge, J.Debrezeni
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – L.Morahan 2, H.Scoble
Pen – P.Grant
Con – P.Grant 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO :George Ayoub


Melbourne Rebels

1. Cruze Ah Nau , 2. James Hanson , 3. Toby Smith , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Sean McMahon , 7. Jordy Reid , 8. Colby Fainga’a , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Mike Harris , 11. Tom English , 12. Reece Hodge , 13. Mitch Inman , 14. Sefa Naivalu , 15. Jack Debreczeni

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Tom Moloney , 18. Tim Metcher , 19. Culum Retallick , 20. Adam Thomson , 21. Scott Fuglistaller , 22. Ben Meehan , 23. Jonah Placid

Western Force

1 Pek Cowan (C) , 2 Harry Scoble , 3 Guy Millar , 4 Ross Haylett-Petty , 5 Adam Coleman , 6 Brynard Stander , 7 Chris Alcock , 8 Ben McCalman , 9 Alby Mathewson , 10 Peter Grant , 11 Luke Morahan , 12 Kyle Godwin , 13 Ben Tapuai , 14 Marcel Brache , 15 Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Francois Van Wyk , 18. Tetera Faulkner , 19. Rory Walton , 20. Angus Cottrell , 21. Ryan Louwrens , 22. Solomoni Rasolea , 23. Semisi Masirewa

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.