Super Rugby

Rebels v Force Rd.14 Super Rugby Preview




The final Super Rugby match in Round 14 is on Sunday in Melbourne where the Rebels host the Western Force at AAMI Park, Melbourne.

The Rebels have already played the Western Force once this year and that match was won 19-25 by the Rebels in Perth.

After 13 rounds of Super Rugby the Rebels have played 11 matches and won 5. The Force have also played 11 but they have won 2.

The Rebels are third in the Australian Conference and in 12th place overall while the Force are last in the Australian Conference and 16th overall.

The Rebels and the Force have played each other 11 times since the Rebels joined Super Rugby in 2011 and the Melbourne side have won 8 matches and lost three.

That gives the Rebels a record of winning 73% of their matches against the Force. The teams have met 5 times in Melbourne and the Rebels have won three of those matches.

The Rebels three wins means that they have won 60% of their home matches against the Force. The average score when the Rebels play the Force in Melbourne is : Rebels 23 Western Force 23.

For this week the Rebels have named Mike Harris at flyhalf and Jack Debreczeni at fullback. The last time Harris started at flyhalf was in Round one and the Rebels beat the Force in that match.

The Rebels have also beefed up their pack for this week as Cruze Ah Nau, Luke Jones and Jordy Reid all return to the starting line up.

After missing last weekend’s game with back soreness, Jones returns to the run-on team while Reid has been reunited with Sean McMahon after being named in the backrow alongside Colby Fainga’a at No. 8.

Ah Nau’s inclusion at loosehead prop sees Toby Smith shift to tight-head.

The Force lost regular captain Matt Hodgson for the season last week and Pek Cowan has been named as captain this week. Hodgson’s injury has opened the way for Chris Alcock to return to the team as one of four changes.

Peter Grant returns to wear the No.10 jersey while Heath Tessmann and Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea will both look to make an impact off the bench.

The front row is made up of Cowan, Harry Scoble at hooker and Millar at tighthead. In the second row Ross Haylett-Petty partners with Adam Coleman and Coleman. In the backrow Brynard Stander starts at blindside with Alcock at openside while Ben McCalman completes the starting pack at No.8.

In the midfield, Kyle Godwin and Ben Tapuai make up the midfield and the back three are Marcel Brache, Luke Morahan and Dane Haylett-Petty at full back

The Bookies have given the Force a 9 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Rebels beat the Force in Perth so they can be expected to beat the Force again this week as they have home advantage. The Rebels should win 11.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 1/HD.

Average score: Rebels 23 Western Force 23

Last five results
27 Feb 2016 Rebels v Force 25-19 Perth
12 Jun 2015 Rebels v Force 11-13 Melbourne
13 Mar 2015 Rebels v Force 21-17 Perth
18 Apr 2014 Rebels v Force 22-16 Melbourne
08 Mar 2014 Rebels v Force 7-32 Perth

Rebels overall record against the Force
Played 11, Wins 8 , Losses 3, Draws 0

Match No.108: Rebels v Force
Date : Sunday 29 May 2016
Venue : AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick Off local: 16:05 local
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO :George Ayoub


Melbourne Rebels

1. Cruze Ah Nau , 2. James Hanson , 3. Toby Smith , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Sean McMahon , 7. Jordy Reid , 8. Colby Fainga’a , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Mike Harris , 11. Tom English , 12. Reece Hodge , 13. Mitch Inman , 14. Sefa Naivalu , 15. Jack Debreczeni

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Tom Moloney , 18. Tim Metcher , 19. Culum Retallick , 20. Adam Thomson , 21. Scott Fuglistaller , 22. Ben Meehan , 23. Jonah Placid

Western Force

1 Pek Cowan (C) , 2 Harry Scoble , 3 Guy Millar , 4 Ross Haylett-Petty , 5 Adam Coleman , 6 Brynard Stander , 7 Chris Alcock , 8 Ben McCalman , 9 Alby Mathewson , 10 Peter Grant , 11 Luke Morahan , 12 Kyle Godwin , 13 Ben Tapuai , 14 Marcel Brache , 15 Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Francois Van Wyk , 18. Tetera Faulkner , 19. Rory Walton , 20. Angus Cottrell , 21. Ryan Louwrens , 22. Solomoni Rasolea , 23. Semisi Masirewa



Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.