Super Rugby

Rebels v Hurricanes Rd.8 Super Rugby Preview




The second Super Rugby match in Round eight on Friday in is Melbourne Australia where the Rebels host the Hurricanes.

Both of these teams have played six matches, won four and lost two. The Hurricanes are however in the play off places while the Rebels are just outside.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Rebels are having arguably their best season as they are the second highest ranked Australian team but form has been a little stuttering and they have only been able to win back to back matches once and that was three weeks ago.

The Hurricanes are however on a four match winning streak and returned from their bye and beat the Jaguares comprehensively.

Their 40-22 victory over the Jaguares was their third match in a row (Jaguares, Kings and Force) that they have scored 40 points or more.

Another concern for the Rebels will be that the Hurricanes have scored the fourth most tries in Super Rugby this season (22), led by fly half Beauden Barrett, the competition’s fourth leading point scorer this season (72).

The Hurricanes and the Rebels have played each other four times in Super Rugby since 2011 and the Rebels have won one and lost four.

That gives them a record of winning just 25% of their matches against the Hurricanes. In Melbourne the teams have met twice and the Rebels have won one and lost one.

The average score when the Rebels host the Hurricanes in Melbourne is Rebels 28 Hurricanes 25. The Rebels won the first match between the teams but the last three matches have all been won by the Hurricanes.

Against New Zealand teams the Rebels have won 33% of their matches.

For this match the Hurricanes have made three changes to the side that beat the Jaguares. Vince Aso and Matt Proctor form a new midfield as they partner for the first time this season

Aso replaces Ngani Laumape, who moves to the reserves, while Proctor shifts in from the right wing to take over from Willis Halaholo at centre in a re-jigged backline.

Jason Woodward starts at fullback against the Rebels who he played 26 matches for between 2013 and 2014. The other change to the team is in the pack where Vaea Fifita will start at lock in place of Blade Thomson who has been ruled out of the match due to a bruised knee.

The Rebels beat the Waratahs in their last outing and have retained the team that secured a first victory in Sydney. Captain Nic Stirzaker has overcome a head knock which saw him substituted during the first half against the Waratahs while Sefa Naivalu’s return to Super Rugby from a broken leg continues with a second consecutive week on the reserves bench.

Flanker Scott Fuglistaller has been named as a replacement and will record his 50th Super Rugby appearance should he take the field against the Hurricanes on Friday.

The Bookies have given the Rebels a 5 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets The Rebels are in good form this year but the Hurricanes are in better form. The Hurricanes should win this by three.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 2.

Average score: Rebels 23 Hurricanes 38

Last five results
27 Mar 2015 Rebels v Hurricanes 12-36 Wellington
09 May 2014 Rebels v Hurricanes 15-25 Melbourne
26 May 2012 Rebels v Hurricanes 24-66 Wellington
25 Mar 2011 Rebels v Hurricanes 42-25 Melbourne

Rebels overall record against the Hurricanes
Played 4 , Wins 1, Losses 3 , Draws 0

Match No.57: Rebels v Hurricanes
Date : Friday 15 April 2016
Venue : AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick Off local: 19:45 local
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1:Damien Mitchelmore
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : Peter Marshall


Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Cam Crawford , 12. Mitch Inman , 13. Tamati Ellison , 14. Dom Shipperley , 15. Reece Hodge

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Jamie Hagan , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Scott Fuglistaller , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Dan Hawkins , 23. Sefa Naivalu


15 Jason Woodward , 14 Cory Jane , 13 Matt Proctor , 12 Vince Aso , 11 Julian Savea , 10 Beauden Barrett , 9 TJ Perenara (vc) , 8 Victor Vito , 7 Ardie Savea , 6 Brad Shields , 5 Michael Fatialofa , 4 Vaea Fifita , 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen , 2 Dane Coles (c) , 1 Reggie Goodes

Replacements : Leni Apisai, Chris Eves, Ben May, Mark Abbott, Tony Lambourn, Jamison Gibson-Park, Otere Black, Ngani Laumape.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.