Super Rugby

Brumbies beat Rebels in Melbourne


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The second match on Friday in Super Rugby Rd.12 is in Melbourne where the Rebels host the Brumbies in a battle for the top spot in the Australian Conference.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Rebels kick off and the match is underway. Aidan Toua kicks the ball straight into touch.

1.00: The Brumbies win an early penalty for going off their feet. Lealiifano kicks for touch.

4.00: The Brumbies go through 25 phases after the line out. The Rebels tackler does not release so the Brumbies have another penalty.

6.00: Lealiifano lines up the penalty kick and nails it. The Brumbies lead. Lealiifano has now scored 100 points this season.

7.00: The Rebels win a penalty from the line out. Colby Fainga’a wins the ball and the penalty.

8.00: Jack Debreczeni takes the penalty kick from in front but misses.

9.00: The Rebels get some attacking ball and they go wide. Tamati Ellison is tackled but the Rebels keep the ball alive and Cam Crawford slips through and scores under the posts.

10.00: Debreczeni takes the conversion and nails it. Rebels lead.

14.00: the Brumbies win a penalty in the Rebels 22. They choose the corner and line out instead of the posts.

15.00: The Brumbies win the line out and use the maul. They drive over the line and David Pocock scores. TRY!

16.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion kick from the touchline. He hits the post. Brumbies lead.

18.00; The Rebels go on the attack but Nigel Ah Wong gets an intercept and concedes a penalty. The Rebels kick for touch.

20.00: After the line out the Rebels win a penalty. Debreczeni takes the penalty shot and nails it. The Rebels lead again.

22.00: Sam Carter and Christian Lealiifano connect in the air and both take a knock. Adam Thomson shoved Carter into Lealiifano so the TMO has a look. It’s a penalty to the Brumbies.

23.00: Stephen Moore says they will kick for posts. Lealiifano takes the shot but misses.

27.00: The Brumbies run the ball up to the Rebels 5m line but then concede a penalty for not releasing. The Rebels kick for touch to clear.

30.00; Scrum penalty to the Rebels. They kick four touch and the line out. Sam Carter has failed a concussion test and will remain off.

31.00: The Brumbies go through 12 phases on attack and they drive over the line. Rory Arnold looks to have scored. The TMO will have a look. It’s a TRY!

33.00: Lealiifano adds the conversion.

35.00: The Brumbies work the ball into the Rebels 22. They go through 11 phases. It’s slow but steady.  On the 13th phase they lose the ball and the Rebels run the ball out of their 22.

36.00: Christian Lealiifano gets the ball (possibly from a forward pass) and runs to the line and scores. He adds the drop kick conversion so that they can’t review the try and that pass. he misses but the Brumbies have the try.

39.00: The Rebels work the ball up to the Brumbies tryline. They try to drive over the line. The TMO is called in to check if they grounded the ball. TMO says no clear grounding. Penalty to the Rebels. The Rebels take the tap but lose the ball. Brumbies defensive 5m scrum.

40.0: The siren sounds but we will have the scrum.

41.00: Free kick to the Brumbies for the Rebels pushing early. Lealiifano puts it into touch.

Its half time.

The half time score was Rebels 10 Brumbies 20

The Brumbies kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: Colby Fainga’a slips through a gap the Rebels created with a line out move. The Brumbies scramble and just manage to stop the attack. The Rebels get the scrum put in.

43.00: The Brumbies concede a penalty and the Rebels take the 5m line out.

44.00: The Rebels win the line out and press the Brumbies back to their line. The Rebels change sides and stretch the Brumbies and Reece Hodge scores. TRY!

45.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion from almost the touchline.

49.00: Cam Crawford comes off with his arm in a sling and is replaced by Kotaro Matsushima.

51.00: The Brumbies keep the ball moving through the hands as they move the ball upfield. Eventually the Rebels run out of defenders and Scott Fardy goes over to score. TRY!

52.00: Lealiifano misses the conversion.

56.00: The Rebels suck the Brumbies in with a line out move. The Rebels go wide to Sefa Naivalu who races in and scores. TRY!

57.00: The conversion kick is missed.

60.00: The Brumbies try to muscle the ball upfield but Jordy Reid comes in and wins a penalty for the home side. The Rebels kick for touch.

62.00: Penalty to the Rebels for not retreating 10m at the line out. Debreczeni just misses.

65.00: Penalty to the Brumbies in their half. They kick for touch and the line out.

66.00: The Brumbies win the line out and they run the ball. Allan Alaalatoa steps his way to the line and goes over to score. The TMO will have a look. No try due to an earlier knock on.

69.00: The Brumbies send the all wide with a beauty pass from new Super Rugby debutant Jordan Jackson-Hope out to Nigel Ah Wong who races in and scores in the corner. TRY!

71.00: The conversion is missed.

75.00:The Brumbies are still full of attack as they want the bonus point try. They move the ball upfield passing as they go but Pocock knocks on.

78.00: The Brumbies kick to touch and set up a line out. The Brumbies win the line out, Josh Mann-Rea has a run but is caught. The Brumbies keep the attack going but the Rebels turn the ball over and kick for touch.

80.00: The siren sounds but the Brumbies have a line out. They win the line out and kick it into touch.

The Brumbies have won.

The full time score is Rebels 22 (10) Brumbies 30 (20) 


Tries – C.Crawford, R.Hodge, S. Naivalu
Pen -J.Debreczeni
Con – J.Debreczeni 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – D.Pocock, R.Arnold ,C.Lealiifano, S.Fardy, N.Ah Wong
Pen – C.Lealiifano
Con – C.Lealiifano
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1:Will Houston
Assistant Ref 2:Michael Hogan
TMO : Ian Smith



1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Jamie Hagan , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6.Sean McMahon , 7. Colby Fainga’a  , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Cam Crawford , 12. Reece Hodge , 13. Tamati Ellison , 14. Sefa Naivalu , 15. Mike Harris

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Tim Metcher , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Jordy Reid , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Tom English , 23. Kotaro Matsushima


1. Scott Sio, 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Ben Alexander, 4. Rory Arnold, 5.Sam Carter, 6. Scott Fardy, 7. David Pocock, 8.Jarrad Butler, 9.Tomás Cubelli, 10.Christian Lealiifano (c), 11.Lausii Taliauli, 12.James Dargaville , 13.Tevita Kuridrani, 14.Nigel Ah Wong, 15. Aidan Toua,

Replacements : 16.Josh Mann-Rea, 17. Allan Alaalatoa ,18. Ruan Smith ,19. Tom Staniforth, 20. Blake Enever,21. Jordan Smiler, 22.Joe Powell, 23.Jordan Jackson-Hope


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.