Super Rugby

Highlanders beat Rebels in Melbourne



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Super Rugby moves to Melbourne in the second Super Rugby match on Saturday as the Rebels host the defending Super Rugby champions the Highlanders.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. We are waiting for the Easter Bunny to leave the field.

The Highlanders (in green) kick off and we are underway.

1.00: The Rebels take the ball into touch after the kick off. The Highlanders win the line out and try break through the Rebels defence.

3.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Lima Sopoga kicks for touch and the line out.

5.00: The Highlanders drive over the line but they are held up and win a penalty.

6.00: The Highlanders win the line out but but they lose possession. The Rebels win the scrum but there is a knock on.

7.00: The turf has already been churned up into dust. Repairs have to be made but its just sand on top of loose grass. The Scrum re-sets and the Highlanders front row collapses. Penalty to the Rebels who kick for touch.

10.00: The Highlanders put the Rebels under pressure but the home side sucks it all up and the Highlanders cannot get through.

13.00: The Rebels get some possession and they push the Highlanders back and win a penalty.

14.00: Jack Debreczeni takes the kick but misses. To the left.

17.00: Both teams testing each other’s defence. Neither side really taking control.

18.00: The Rebels have a scrum but the Highlanders front row collapses before they get the ball in.

19.00: The scrum is reset and this time the Rebels front row collapses so the Highlanders have a penalty. Sopoaga takes the shot at goal.

20.00: Sopoaga takes his time and nails it. The Highlanders lead.

22.00: The Highlanders chip the ball ahead after the Rebels lose it and Rob Thompson chases the ball, gets to it and scores. TRY!

23.00: Sopoaga slots the conversion to bring up 500 career Super Rugby points.

28.00: Tom English slices a ball into touch for the Rebels. The Highlanders win the line out but the Rebels defend.

70% of the match has been played in the Rebels half.

29.00: The HIghlanders win the line out and go through 5 phases but the Rebels turn the ball over and Debreczeni kicks for touch to clear.

30.00: Penalty in front to the Highlanders. Sopoaga takes the kick and he nails it.

34.00: The Rebels break out down the wing. Dom Shipperley makes a lot of ground and he passes to Jonah Placid and his pass goes to ground. Try opportunity missed.

37.00: The Highlanders get the ball down into the Rebels half but the Rebels turn the ball over and clear.

38.00: Malakai Fekitoa and Patrick Osborne combine to put the Rebels under pressure but Osborne has to chip ahead. The winger on the other side Jack Wilson chases but the Rebels get the ball.

39.00: Highlanders still attacking the Rebels but they concede a penalty at the breakdown. Debreczeni kicks for touch.

40.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a scrum. Highlanders win the scrum and run at the Rebels. The Rebels almost get an intercept but its a knock on.

Its half time.

The half time score was Rebels 0 Highlanders 13

The Rebels kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Rebels win a scrum and kick upfield. They get the ball into the Highlanders half and run towards the line but the chip ahead ends with Jack Wilson of the Highlanders kicking for touch.

45.00: The Rebels are building pressure and go through 11 phases on attack. They have an advantage but run out of ideas and chip ahead. It doesnt work so we go back for the penalty. Debreczeni will kick for posts.

47.00: Debreczeni slots the kick and the Rebels are on the board.

50.00: The Highlanders chip the ball ahead and Dom Shipperley chases the ball as well as Debreczeni, Osborne and another. The referee ask for a TMO decision on a possible penalty try. The verdict is just a penalty. They take the line out.

51.00: The Highlanders win the line out but knock on.

55.00: Rob Thompson of the Highlanders kicks the ball ahead.  Former England sevens player Jack Wilson chases the ball and scores. We go to the TMO to check. Its a TRY!  Two weeks ago Wilson was in the England sevens team.

56.00: Sopoaga takes the conversion kick and nails it.

58.00: The Rebels get the ball up to the Highlanders 5m line. They go through 9 phases and they kick across the field but Cam Crawford cant control it. We go back for a penalty. The Rebels choose a scrum.

64.00: The Rebels make an error with the ball and Patrick Osborne gets the ball and races down the field and scores what could be a bonus point TRY!

65.00: Sopoaga takes the conversion kick and nails it from outwide.

71.00; The Highlanders have just been too clinical for the Rebels in this. The Rebels are giving everything while the Highlanders look like they are just going through the motions.

72.00: Former Highlander Adam Thomson has a run but he is shut down. The Rebels go through 17 phases but they can’t get through. Thomson limps off.

75.00: The Rebels continue to bash away at the Highlanders but they just cannot get through.

77.00: The Highlanders win a penalty and they kick for touch. They win the line out and attack.

78.00: Another penalty for the Highlanders. Hayden Parker kicks for the corner.

79.00: HIghlanders win the line out. They get to the 5m line but lose the ball forward.

80.00: The Rebels win the scrum as the siren sounds. They run the ball but the Highlanders shut them down.

Thats it.

The full time score Rebels 3 (0) Highlanders 27 (13) 


Tries –
Pen – J. Debreczeni
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – R.Thompson, J.Wilson, P.Osborne
Pen – L.Sopoaga 2
Con – L.Sopoaga 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Jordan Way
TMO :Peter Marshall



1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon (captain) , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Ben Meehan , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Tom English , 12. Mitch Inman , 13. Tamati Ellison , 14. Dom Shipperley , 15. Jonah Placid

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Jamie Hagan , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Scott Fuglistaller , 21. Nic Stirzaker , 22. Dan Hawkins , 23. Reece Hodge


1. Brendon Edmonds , 2. Ash Dixon , 3. Siosiua Halanukonuka , 4. Mark Reddish , 5. Joe Wheeler , 6. Luke Whitelock , 7. Shane Christie (cc) , 8. Liam Squire , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Pat Osborne , 12. Rob Thompson , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Jack Wilson , 15. Ben Smith (cc)

Replacements : 16. Liam Coltman , 17. Craig Millar , 18. Josh Hohneck , 19. Dan Pryor , 20. Elliot Dixon , 21. Josh Renton , 22. Hayden Parker , 23. Jason Emery


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.