Super Rugby

Hurricanes beat Rebels in Melbourne




The second Super Rugby match in Round eight on Friday in is Melbourne Australia where the Rebels host the Hurricanes.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Rebels kick off and the match is underway.

2.00: The Rebels win the first scrum. Stirzaker runs the ball into the Hurricanes 22. The Rebels go through 5 phases and get the ball to around 10m out.

3.00: The Rebels go wide on the 8th phase and Sefa Naivalu passes the ball out but it is intercepted by Julian Savea and there is a knock on.

5.00: A scrum on the 5m line has to be moved as the turf is torn up.

7.00: The scrums are a problem due to the turf and the grounds men have come on with the pitchfork. The Rebels win the scrum and they charge for the line. Adam Thomson goes over to score but he may have been held up. We go to the TMO. No clear grounding. Held up.

8.00: The Rebels keep the pressure on in the Hurricanes 22. They go through 5 phases and have the advantage. The Rebels kick to the corner and the Hurricanes can’t get to it as Julian Savea trips on the turf which is now like a sandpit and Dom Shipperley gets to the ball and scores. TRY!

10.00: Debreczeni misses the conversion.

15.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes. Beauden Barrett takes the kick but misses.

16.00: The Hurricanes win a line out and Barrett slices through the Rebels defence and he offloads to Victor Vito who races in to score. TRY! Dom Shipperley has to be helped from the field- ankle. Jonah Placid comes on.

17.00: Beauden Barrett takes the conversion kick and he nails this one. Hurricanes lead.

18.00: Jordy Reid wins a penalty for the Rebels. Reece Hodge takes the penalty kick, nails it and the Rebels lead.

22.00: Jason Woodward chips over the Rebels defence and the ball gets to Cory Jane who runs for the line and scores. TRY!

22.00: Barrett misses the conversion.

26.00: The TMO is called in for a “dump tackle”. After several reviews nothing comes of it and the game resumes with a line out.

27.00: The Rebels attack but Beauden Barrett picks off an intercept and runs for the line and scores. TRY!

29.00: Barrett converts the try.

33.00: The Rebels go through 9 phases and get to the Hurricanes 22 before the Hurricanes turn it over. They kick and chase and get the ball to the Rebels 22. The Rebels chip the ball upfield and Julian Savea runs it straight back into the Rebels 22.

35.00: The Hurricanes keep the ball alive and they drive over the line but are held up.

37.0) : The Hurricanes win the scrum and they kick wide for Julian Savea. He sucks up several defenders which allows Jason Woodward to slip through and score against his old team. TRY!

Barrett adds the conversion.

40.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes from the scrum as the siren sounds. They choose to kick for the corner and Barrett does so. The ball goes out about 6m out.

41.00: Penalty to the Rebels – for coming around the corner. They kick the ball out.

Its half time.

The half time score was Rebels 8 Hurricanes 26

Beauden Barrett kicks off and the second half is underway.

41.00: The Rebels win an early penalty so they kick for touch and the line out.

42.00: A small fight breaks out after a penalty to the Hurricanes is awarded for not releasing the ball. Reece Hodge comes off for a concussion check.

45.00: The Hurricanes knock on which gives the Rebels a scrum. The scrum has to be reset as the ball comes out too slowly.

47.00;The Hurricanes win the scrum and attack in the corner. They get pushed into touch but are called back for a penalty. Tamati Ellison offside. The Hurricanes choose the line out.

48.00: The Hurricanes win the line out and go over but they are held up. 5m scrum. This could be a while as its on the sandpit part of the field. Hodge is back on from the concussion test.

51.00: The Hurricanes put the Rebels under real pressure on their tryline but the Rebels hold them out. Sean McMahon is yellow carded for foul play. Replays show its harsh.

52.00: The Hurricanes win the scrum on the 5m line. They go wide through 5 phases. There is a knock on but we go to the TMO to see who actually knocked on. Stirzaker knocked on so 5m scrum on the sandpit.

56.00: The Hurricanes continue to keep the Rebels under pressure in their 22. The Rebels briefly turn the ball over but then lose it and the Hurricanes continue with the attack.

57.00: Penalty to the Hurricanes in front. They choose a scrum.

59.00: The Rebels try to clear the ball and set up a ruck behind the tryline. They put the ball out the back on the ground. As you can’t have a ruck behind the tryline Ardie Savea gets a hand to it and scores. TRY!

61.00: Barrett misses the conversion. Ben Meehan comes on for Stirzaker and McMahon comes back on.

65.00: Meehan almost immediately picks up the pace of the game. The Rebels win a free kick. They tap the ball and run. The ball gets into the Hurricanes 22 and the Rebels win a penalty in front of the posts.

68.00: Instead of going for posts the Rebels choose the scrum. The Rebels win another penalty. They choose another scrum.

70.00: Another scrum penalty. This time they win the ball and move it to the left. However the Hurricanes stop the move, turn the ball over and attack from deep.

73.00: Hurricanes have the ball in the Rebels 22. They go through the phases but get pushed back as a Rebel knocks the ball on. The Rebels though win a penalty. They kick for touch.

The Hurricanes go on the attack, Barrett chips the ball ahead, it hits Pat Leafa’s hand and bounces back to Barrett and he races to the line and scores. TRY!

76.0: Barrett adds the conversion.

79.00: Sefa Naivalu slips through for the Rebels and offloads to Cam Crawford who runs in as easy try.

The conversion is missed.

The ball is kicked into touch after the siren.

The Hurricanes have won.

The full time score is Rebels 13 (8) Hurricanes 38 (26)


Tries – D.Shipperley, C.Crawford
Pen – R.Hodge
Con –
Drop –
Cards – S.McMahon (51st min yellow)

Tries – V.Vito, C.Jane, B.Barrett 2, J.Woodward, A.Savea
Pen –
Con – B.Barrett 4
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann
Assistant Ref 1:Damien Mitchelmore
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : Peter Marshall


Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Cam Crawford , 12.Tamati Ellison, 13. Sefa Naivalu , 14. Dom Shipperley , 15. Reece Hodge

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Jamie Hagan , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Scott Fuglistaller , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Dan Hawkins , 23. Jonah Placid


15 Jason Woodward , 14 Cory Jane , 13 Matt Proctor , 12 Vince Aso , 11 Julian Savea , 10 Beauden Barrett , 9 TJ Perenara (vc) , 8 Victor Vito , 7 Ardie Savea , 6 Brad Shields , 5 Michael Fatialofa , 4 Vaea Fifita , 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen , 2 Dane Coles (c) , 1 Reggie Goodes

Replacements : Leni Apisai, Chris Eves, Ben May, Mark Abbott, Tony Lambourn, Jamison Gibson-Park, Otere Black, Ngani Laumape.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.