Super Rugby

Rebels beat Reds in Melbourne




The second Super Rugby match on Saturday is in Melbourne where the Rebels will host the Reds from Brisbane in their first home match for 2016.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. The Rebels have been forced into a late change as Sione Tuipulotu starts instead of Tamati Ellison.

The Reds kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Reds dominate the ball for the first two minutes but the Rebels keep them out.

3.00: The Rebels get the ball on attack in the Reds half.  They win a penalty and will kick for posts.

4.00: Jack Debreczeni takes the kick and nails it. The Rebels lead.

8.00; Karmichael Hunt kicks for touch and sets up a line out. The Reds win the line out but the Rebels steal the ball and attack.

9.00: The Rebels go through 5 phases but get called back for a penalty. Debreczeni will kick for posts. He nails it.

14.00: The Rebels (Meehan) put in a grubber and Jonah Placid chases and dives on the ball to score. TRY!

15.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion.

18.00: The Reds win a penalty so they kick for touch and the line out. They win the line out in the Rebels 22 but the Rebels knock it on.

23.00: Penalty to the Rebels in the Reds half for hands in the ruck. They will kick for posts. The TMO has a look at a shoulder charge. He does, there is nothing in it.

24.00: Debreczeni takes the penalty shot and nails it.

28.00: The Reds have an attacking scrum in the Rebels 22. They win the ball but pass back to no one. The ball goes to ground and the Rebels win a penalty for no clear release. They kick for touch.

32.00: The Rebels win another penalty. Debreczeni takes the shot but this one he misses.

34.00: Hendrik Tui makes a break and gets half way up the field, he passes to Nick Frisby who races for the line and dives over to score.  TRY!

35.00: Jake McIntyre adds the conversion.

38.00: Penalty to the Reds. Simmons says they will go for posts even though its 45m out. McIntyre takes the shot and nails it.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time. The teams play on and then the ball is taken into touch.

Its half time.

The half time score was Rebels 16 Reds 10

The Rebels kick off and the second half is underway.

41.00: The Rebels win an early penalty – offside. Debreczeni will kick for posts.

42.00: He takes his time and nails this one.

43.00: Reds win a penalty. They kick for touch but don’t find it so the Rebels kick it back.

44.00: The Rebels then concede a penalty for going off their feet at the breakdown.

45.00: McIntyre slots the penalty for the Reds.

47.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Debreczeni takes the shot but misses.

53.00: The Rebels win a penalty inside the Reds 22. Debreczeni lines up the kick and takes the shot. He nails it. That is a record for him as he has never scored 17 points in a match before.

58.00: Penalty to the Reds. McIntyre kicks for touch.

59.00: The Reds win the line out and use the maul. They drive over and Andrew Ready who is making his Super Rugby debut scores his first TRY!

60.00: McIntyre adds the conversion and the Reds are right back in this.

62.00: Sean McMahon breaks for the Rebels but gets isolated.

The Rebels are in danger of fading at this stage as they have had to travel back from Pretoria since their last match.

64.00: The Reds have a scrum on the Rebels 22m line. They win the scrum and then a penalty n- front row collapsing. They will kick for posts.

66.00: McIntyre takes the shot, nails the kick and the Reds are in front for the first time.

69.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Debreczeni slots it and the Rebels lead again.

72.00: Anthony Fainga’a is yellow carded for not rolling away. The Reds will finish the match with 14 players.

73.00: The Rebels kick for touch and the line out in the Reds 22. They lose the line out.

76.00: The Reds press the Rebels back over the half way line. They win a line out but then pass deeply and have further to attack.

77.0: The Reds with 14 players press the Rebels back into their 22.  The continue to press and push for the penalty. 13 phases.

79.00: McIntyre drops back for the field goal and the Reds press forward. He gets the ball but decides to run it and the Rebels turn the ball over. They just need to hold on to it now.

79.49 : Penalty to the Rebels.

80.00: The siren sounds and Debreczeni kicks it into touch. The Rebels have won.

The full time score is Rebels 25 (16) Reds 23 (10)


Tries – J.Placid
Pen – J.Debreczeni 6
Con – J.Debreczeni
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -N.Frisby, A.Ready
Pen – J.McIntyre 3
Con – J.McIntyre 2
Drop –
Cards -A.Fainga’a (72nd min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 1:Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : Peter Marshall


Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon (captain) , 8. Adam Thomson , 9. Ben Meehan , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Tom English , 12. Mitch Inman , 13. Sione Tuipulotu , 14. Dom Shipperley , 15. Jonah Placid

Replacements : 6. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Jamie Hagan , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Steve Cummins , 21. Mick Snowden , 22. Dan Hawkins , 23. Kotaro Matsushima


1. Sef Fa’agase (run-on debut) , 2. Andrew Ready (run-on debut) , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Cadeyrn Neville , 5. Rob Simmons (C) , 6. Hendrik Tui , 7. Waita Setu (run-on debut) , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Nick Frisby , 10. Jake McIntyre , 11. Eto Nabuli , 12. Anthony Fainga’a , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 15. Karmichael Hunt

Replacements : 16. Matt Mafi (potential Queensland/Super Rugby debut) , 17. Ben Daley , 18. Sam Talakai , 19. Ben Matwijow , 20. Curtis Browning , 21. Scott Gale , 22. Sam Greene , 23. Ayumu Goromaru

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.