Record breaking Cheetahs shock the Force




The Cheetahs won their first Super Rugby match in Western Australia when they beat the Force 10-19 in Perth on Saturday.

The result is the Cheetahs third succesive victory over the Western Force and the Cheetahs third victory on tour.

The Cheetahs have now beaten the Highlanders, Waratahs and the Force on tour and only lost to the current Super Rugby champions the Chiefs on their away leg.

Both teams scored a try each but the difference was the Force’s discipline as the Cheetahs kicked four penalties to the Force’s one penalty.

The Cheetahs showed great character to come from behind and beat the Force who
for much of the game controlled the play and looked the likely winners.

With 15 minutes left in the match it looked like a tough four-game road trip
was finally taking its toll on the battling visitors.

The Force were leading 10-6 in their first home game of the season and pressing
relentlessly, while the Cheetahs seemed to be doing nothing but defending and
appeared to be tiring.

However, the Cheetahs then stunned the Force by grabbing the lead with successive
penalties, before sealing the win with a 77th-minute try to Willie le Roux.

The boot of Riaan Smit was critical to the result, as he converted all four
of his penalty attempts.

The Force, on the other hand, were left ruing their wastefulness, missing three
of their four penalty attempts.

They also made critical turnovers, especially late in the game.

It was a turnover when the Force had possession, resulting from a big hit by
Smit, that led to the game-clinching try for le Roux.

The ball spilled loose and Francois Uys grubbered it forward, allowing le Roux
to gather possession and stroll in for a simple try that ensured the Force suffered
yet another agonising loss at home.

That came after Smit penalties in the 68th and 73rd minute gave the Cheetahs
a 10-12 lead.

The Force had earlier blown a chance to go 13-6 ahead in the 63rd minute, when
Jayden Hayward failed to convert a penalty from straight in front.

The home side had led 7-6 at the break, scoring the only try of the first half
when Winston Stanley charged over in the corner in the 28th minute, after the
Cheetahs were themselves punished for a bad turnover.

Cheetahs captain Adriaan Strauss conceded his team was down on form, but added
that they showed great grit to grind out the victory.

“I don’t think we played our best rugby of the season, but we are very
happy with the win,” he said.

“We didn’t stick to our structures today and were lucky to get the win.

“It is important if you are not at your best that you still win games.

“We’ll take the three on tour and hopefully we can keep the momentum going
at home.”

Force skipper Pek Cowan said the defeat was a bitter pill to swallow after
they dominated possession for long periods.

“It is a disappointing effort, we have to make sure we focus for 80 minutes,”
he said.

“They frustrated us a bit and we didn’t deliver. We didn’t capitalise,
we didn’t put points on the board.”

Final Score Force 10 (7) Cheetahs 19 (6)


Tries – W Stanley
Pen – J. Hayward
Con – S Ebersohn
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – W. Le Roux
Pen – R Smit 4
Con – R Smit
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
: Garratt Williamson
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Ian Smith
TMO : George Ayoub


Western Force

1. Pek Cowan (c),2. Nathan Charles,3. Salesi Ma’afu,4. Toby Lynn ,5. Hugh McMeniman,6. Angus Cottrell,7. Chris Alcock,8. Richard Brown ,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Sias Ebersohn,11. Alfie Mafi,12. Kyle Godwin,13. Winston Stanley ,14. Patrick Dellit,15. Will Tupou

Replacements :16. Heath Tessmann,17. Tetera Faulkner,18. Sam Wykes,19. Ben McCalman,20. Matt Hodgson,21. Mick Snowden,22. Jayden Hayward


15. Hennie Daniller, 14. Willie le Roux, 13. Johan Sadie, 12. Robert Ebersohn, 11. Raymond Rhule, 10. Riaan Smit, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Phillip van der Walt, 7. Pieter Labuschagne, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Francois Uys, 4. Lodewyk de Jager, 3. Lourens Adriaanse, 2. Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1. Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Coenie Oosthuisen, 18. Rynhard Landman, 19. Johannes Prinsloo, 20. Piet van Zyl, 21. Burton Francis, 22. Ryno Benjamin.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.