Super Rugby

Reds change one for Sunwolves




Queensland Super rugby head coach Brad Thorn has named a team with one change for this Friday’s clash against the Sunwolves at Suncorp Stadium.

Following two appearances off the bench in South Africa, University of Queensland flyer Jock Campbell will make his starting debut replacing Jack Hardy on the wing.

Hardy has been ruled out for the remainder of the season after rupturing his ACL during the second half of the Reds 21-14 victory over the Sharks in Durban.

Campbell’s promotion into the starting side sees outside back Seb Wileman potentially set to make his Super Rugby and Queensland debut off the bench as the only change to the reserves.

Born in Sydney, Seb joined the Reds after six years playing in the Shute Shield with the Warringah Rats and also in the National Rugby Championship (NRC) with both the Sydney Rays and NSW Country Eagles.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s an important game for us this week. The Sunwolves are a dangerous side. We’re hoping to put in a good performance for our Queensland fans on Friday night.

“We’ve lost Jack Hardy for the season unfortunately. He did his ACL over in Durban and underwent surgery this week. As a group we’ll support him in his recovery. At just 19, he’s already made his Super Rugby debut and we think he’s a got a big future at the club.

“It sees Jock Campbell handed his first start. He made his Queensland debut over in Africa and had some good touches on the wing over there. He’s a hard worker and continues to improve each week.

“Seb Wileman possibly gets a chance to make his Queensland debut this week. He’s come to us through club rugby system with Warringah down in Sydney. Seb’s been playing some good footy with Brothers here in Brisbane and has been working hard at training,” said Thorn.

Queensland Reds

1. Harry Hoopert , 2. Alex Mafi , 3. Taniela Tupou , 4. Izack Rodda , 5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto , 6. Angus Scott-Young , 7. Liam Wright , 8. Scott Higginbotham, 9. Tate McDermott , 10. Bryce Hegarty , 11. Sefa Naivalu, 12. Samu Kerevi (c) , 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 14. Jock Campbell , 15. Hamish Stewart

Replacements 16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa , 17. JP Smith, 18. Ruan Smith , 19. Harry Hockings , 20. Adam Korczyk, 22. Duncan Paia’aua, 23. Seb Wileman

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.