Super Rugby

Reds change three for Waratahs clash




Queensland Reds Super Rugby head coach Brad Thorn has named his team to play their oldest rivals the New South Wales Waratahs in Brisbane.

Thorn has made two personnel changes and a positional switch to the starting team, along with a number of changes to the reserves, ahead of their final match before the June Test window.

The coaching staff have made just the one change to the starting forward pack, with lock Kane Douglas returning to the starting side, shifting Harry Hockings to the bench.

In the backs, 22-year-old scrumhalf Moses Sorovi has earned his first start, with Ben Lucas moving to the bench. Meanwhile, Hamish Stewart and Jono Lance have swapped positions. Stewart returns to the starting flyhalf jersey for the second time this season, with Lance assuming the fullback role.

In the reserves, hooker Alex Mafi has returned to the match-day squad for the first time since Round 13, with Andrew Ready dropping out of the 23.

Utility back Jayden Ngamanu has also returned to the squad for the first time since Round 8, with Aidan Toua dropping out.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “It’s a big game this weekend. Queensland v New South Wales is one of those games everyone marks down on their calendar. We’re excited to be playing them at Suncorp Stadium, in our traditional maroon strip.

“We haven’t made a lot of changes for the match because we feel the team has put in two big efforts where we’ve just fallen short in recent weeks.

“It’s a great opportunity for Moses to get his first start. He’s an exciting young prospect and we felt he deserved the chance to show what he can do from the kick off. We also felt it was the right time to give Hamish another opportunity in the starting flyhalf jersey. It’s only his second start at flyhalf. He enjoyed his experience against the Lions and this is another chance in the 10 jersey.

“This is our last match at Suncorp Stadium for a number of weeks so it would be great to see a lot of support from our home crowd.”

Queensland Reds

1. JP Smith, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa , 3. Taniela Tupou , 4. Izack Rodda, 5. Kane Douglas, 6. Angus Scott-Young , 7. George Smith, 8. Scott Higginbotham (C) , 9. Moses Sorovi , 10. Hamish Stewart, 11. Jordan Petaia, 12. Duncan Paia’aua , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Izaia Perese, 15. Jono Lance

Replacements : 16. Alex Mafi , 17. Sef Fa’agase, 18. Ruan Smith , 19. Harry Hockings, 20. Caleb Timu , 21. Liam Wright, 22. Ben Lucas, 23. Jayden Ngamanu

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.