Super Rugby

Reds ease to victory over wilted Waratahs




Queensland Reds beat NSW Waratahs 32-20 in a tough Super Rugby Pacific derby at a drenched Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

The Queensland Reds stay second on the Super Rugby Pacific log with their fifth win of the season. It is also the Reds’ fifth win in six games versus the NSW Waratahs.

The 12-point victory is Queensland’s 12th win in a row at home against Australian opposition; they are proving a tough nut to crack in derbies in Brisbane.

Tate McDermott, Taniela Tupou, Fraser McReight, and Jock Campbell all dotted down for the defending Super Rugby AU champions.

James O’Connor kicked two penalties and two conversions (10 pts), Isaac Henry added a conversion as well.

New South Wales managed a try in each half through Jack Grant and Tom Horton at the death.

Will Harrison and Tane Edmed both kicked a penalty and a conversion for the Tahs.

Dane Zander and McDermott both spent time on the sidelines with a red and yellow card respectively.

Darren Coleman’s side could not, however, make their hosts pay, scoring just six points while the opposition had 13 players.

Instead of punishing their opponents, they wilted in the Queensland rain.

To make matters worse, Brad Thorn’s charges dug deep, scoring three points during the combined 20 minute period.

Instead, it was the home team who took control, scoring 19 unanswered points in 15 minutes to kill the game as a contest.

Horton’s last-gasp score did give the visitors a point, while the hosts march on.

Queensland took a slender 13-10 lead into the shed of a tight first-half encounter

Conditions were again terrible in Australia with another match hit by torrential rain. However, despite the wet and slippery conditions, both teams tried to play footy.

Both halfbacks scored before the half-hour, although, the boot of O’Connor edged the Reds ahead.

Grant scored an early try for the visitors but 10 unanswered points put the hosts in front after 31 minutes.

A sublime attack by the Tahs saw Alex Newsome and Mark Nawaqanitawase combine with two magic offloads to put Grant in the corner for the game’s first try.

A 50/22 from O’Connor set up an attacking lineout near the NSW try line. The Reds set up the rolling maul before McDermott broke to the left and darted over for his 18th Super Rugby try.

McDermott’s converted score put the Reds 10-7 up after an earlier O’Connor goal.

Harrison levelled after Zander’s red card for a dangerous tackle on Ruan Smith.

O’Connor, however, added another penalty before the skipper got sent to the bin for a deliberate knock-down on the stroke of halftime.

Waratahs failed to strike with the numerical advantage; instead, the Reds seized the game when back to a full lineup

Zander and McDermott’s cards only cost six points – for a net loss of three – which made a big difference in the final outcome.

Edmed’s penalty levelled proceeding again seven minutes after the interval.

Thorn’s men had kept an early Waratahs’ surge at bay before try-scoring sensation Tupou crashed over on 54 minutes for his 23rd Super Rugby try.

O’Connor added the extras to make it 20-13.

Two tries inside two-and-a-half minutes from McReight and Campbell broke the Waratahs’ spirits.

Topou went close but McReight burrowed over from close range.

Campbell intercepted Edmed’s pass to run away 70 metres untouched to break the Sydney side’s spirits.

Henry converted Campbell’s score to open up a 19-point lead with 11 minutes remaining.

Horton scored a late consolation try from a driving maul to earn Coleman’s side the losing bonus point.

Final Score: Reds 32 (13) Waratahs 20 (10)


Tries – McDermott, Tupou, McReight, Campbell
Pen – O’Connor (2)
Con – O’Connor (2), Henry
Drop –
Cards – Zander (Red, 31′), McDermott (Yellow, 39′)

Tries – Grant, Horton
Pen – Harrison, Edmed
Con – Harrison, Edmed
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: Reuben Keane
TMO: Brett Cronan


Queensland Reds: 15 Jordan Petaia, 14 Jock Campbell, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Josh Flook, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott (co-captain), 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Fraser McReight (co-captain), 6 Seru Uru, 5 Angus Blyth, 4 Ryan Smith, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Josh Nasser, 1 Dane Zander

Replacements: 16 Matt Faessler, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Feao Fotuaika, 19 Connor Vest, 20 Liam Wright, 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Lawson Creighton, 23 Isaac Henry

Waratahs: 15 Will Harrison, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Tane Edmed, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Will Harris, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Charlie Gamble, 5 Geoff Cridge, 4 Hugh Sinclair, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Dave Porecki, 1 Tetera Faulkner

16 Tom Horton, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Archer Holz, 19 Jed Holloway, 20 Langi Gleeson, 21 Teddy Wilson, 22 Dylan Pietsch, 23 Triston Reilly

Recommended for you

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Reds ease to victory over wilted Waratahs - Super Rugby Pacific - Daily Post Central

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.