Super Rugby

Reds make four changes for Bulls



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Queensland Reds head coach Brad Thorn has named a Super rugby team with four changes to the starting line up to play the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria.

Chris Feauai-Sautia will start at outside centre in his return from a hamstring injury, as captain Samu Kerevi shifts back to 12.

Outside back Aidan Toua earns his first start this season on the wing replacing Sefa Naivalu, who is being rested in accordance with Rugby Australia’s workload management policy.

While prop Taniela Tupou and hooker Alex Mafi will both come off the bench and into the starting frontrow this weekend.

Tupou and Mafi’s inclusion in the XV sees Ruan Smith and Brandon Paenga-Amosa drop to the bench.

They’ll be joined by other new two faces with backrower Angus Scott-Young cleared of concussion and flyer Jock Campbell potentially set to make his Super Rugby and Queensland debut.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “Playing at Loftus is always a great and challenging experience. The Bulls will be highly motivated playing at home. After a couple of results haven’t gone their way, they’ll be putting in a good performance in front of their fans.

“We’ve decided to rest Sefa as part of Rugby Australia’s resting policy. He’ll be missed. He’s been playing outstanding rugby for us. It sees Aidan get an opportunity this week.

“A big well done to Jock for being in the 23. It’s good to see another man from club Rugby come into our program and be rewarded for the hard work he’s put in. As a group we congratulate him,” said Thorn.

Queensland continues their South African tour next week, as they travel to Durban for next Friday’s match against the Bulls at Kings Park.

The Reds return home in Round 12 as they host the Sunwolves at Suncorp Stadium on Friday May 3.

Queensland Reds

1. JP Smith , 2. Alex Mafi , 3. Taniela Tupou , 4. Izack Rodda , 5. Harry Hockings , 6. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto , 7. Liam Wright , 8. Scott Higginbotham, 9. Tate McDermott , 10. Bryce Hegarty , 11. Aidan Toua, 12. Samu Kerevi (c), 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 14. Jack Hardy, 15. Hamish Stewart,

Replacements : 16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa , 17. Harry Hoopert, 18. Ruan Smith , 19. Angus Blyth , 20. Angus Scott-Young , 21. Moses Sorovi, 22. Duncan Paia’aua , 23. Jock Campbell

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.