Super Rugby

Reds make four changes for Hurricanes



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


Reds head coach Nick Stiles has named a Super Rugby team with four changes to the starting side to play current champions the Hurricanes in Brisbane.

The match is the Queensland side’s first home match since early in March as the Reds have just returned from a tour to South Africa and Argentina.

In the forwards, lock Rob Simmons returns to the starting side in place of injured Izack Rodda, who suffered an ankle injury in last week’s loss to the Jaguares.

A shuffle in the back row sees George Smith return to the starting Number 7 jersey, with Adam Korczyk shifting to blindside flanker and Hendrik Tui moving to the bench.

In the backs, Chris Kuridrani returns to the starting wing for the first time since Round 2, with Izaia Perese on the bench. Stiles has also named one potential debutant in the match-day 23, with Queensland U20s flyhalf Hamish Stewart on the bench.

The Darling Downs product has been a standout for Queensland’s Super U20s side, helping them secure a home final against New South Wales at Ballymore this coming Sunday.

“The Hurricanes will be a massive challenge. We have to look at that as an opportunity. We’ve had some really disappointing losses over the last few weeks, but you can sense within the team that we’re close to producing the right result on the field,” Stiles said.

“Last week’s performance simply wasn’t good enough, but the players have been honest in their appraisal and committed to learning from it and getting better. It’s been a tough few weeks, but we couldn’t be happier to be back at home this weekend with an opportunity to make our fans proud.”


1. Markus Vanzati , 2. Stephen Moore (C) , 3. Sam Talakai , 4. Rob Simmons , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Adam Korczyk , 7. George Smith , 8. Scott Higginbotham , 9. James Tuttle, 10. Jake McIntyre, 11. Eto Nabuli, 12. Duncan Paia’aua , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Kuridrani , 15. Karmichael Hunt

Replacements : 16. Andrew Ready, 17. Kirwan Sanday, 18. Taniela Tupou , 19. Lukhan Tui, 20. Hendrik Tui , 21. Nick Frisby, 22. Hamish Stewart , 23. Izaia Perese

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.