Super Rugby

Reds make two changes for Waratahs




Queensland Reds Super rugby head coach Brad Thorn has named a team with two changes to play the New South Wales Waratahs at Suncorp Stadium.

After overcoming a broken leg in the pre-season, former Blues playmaker Matt McGahan will make his Queensland debut at fullback.

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto returns to the starting side at blindside flanker, seeing Angus Scott-Young shift to number eight.

There are a further two changes to the reserves, as Scott Higginbotham takes his place on the bench, while Seb Wileman could potentially make his Super Rugby debut after being recalled to the Reds’ 23.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “New South Wales are our traditional foe. They’re in a similar position to us on the table, so we’ll be looking to put in a good performance in front of our Queensland fans at home.

“Hamish Stewart is out this week with injury. It sees Matt McGahan get his first start for Queensland. He’s been working hard at training and deserves this opportunity.

“Angus Scott-Young moves to number eight and Lukhan Salakaia-Loto will start in the six jersey. Scott Higginbotham will come on as a finisher this week. Apart from JP Smith, it again sees seven of the eight starting forward pack all come from the Queensland U20s together,” said Thorn.

Queensland Reds

1. JP Smith , 2. Alex Mafi , 3. Taniela Tupou , 4. Izack Rodda, 5. Angus Blyth, 6. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto , 7. Liam Wright, 8. Angus Scott-Young , 9. Tate McDermott, 10. Bryce Hegarty, 11. Sefa Naivalu , 12. Samu Kerevi (c) , 13. Chris Feauai-Sautia,
14. Jock Campbell , 15. Matt McGahan

Replacements : 16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa , 17. Harry Hoopert , 18. Ruan Smith, 19. Scott Higginbotham, 20. Caleb Timu , 21. Moses Sorovi , 22. Duncan Paia’aua , 23. Seb Wileman

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.