Super Rugby

Force beat Reds in Brisbane




Queensland Super Rugby franchise the Reds will host second Australian Super Rugby derby clash of Round 2 as they are at home hosting the Western Force.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The match is underway.

1.00: The Reds launch an early attack but the Force’s defence is rock solid and it wins them a penalty. They kick for touch.

3.00: Penalty to the Force. Jono Lance takes the shot at goal and nails the penalty. The Force lead.

5.00: Goromaru clears the ball to relieve pressure for the Reds.

7.00: Penalty to the Force. They kick for touch but the Reds win the line out.

9.00: Both teams are testing each other’s defence.

11.0: The Reds win a scrum near the half way line and go through 4 phases but only make 10m. They keep the ball going but the Force’s defence is strong.

12.00: The Force get a boot to a loose ball and chase. The Reds have to get back quickly and Karmichael Hunt loses the ball as he goes over the line. We go to the TMO to check if Alby Mathewson got a hand to the ball and scored. No try. 5m scrum to the Force.

15.00: After several re-sets the Reds win a penalty for illegal scrum wheeling. They kick for touch to clear the ball.

19.00: The Force are keeping the game in the Reds half and keeping the home side under pressure.

21.00: Free kick from the scrum to the Force. The Reds get spoken to by the referee Angus Gardner.

22.00: The Reds win a penalty from the scrum as the Force’s scrum collapses.

25.00:  Saia Fainga’a has to come off limping. Seems to be an ankle injury.

29.00: Goromaru kicks for touch to relieve some pressure for the Reds. 65% of the match has been played in the Reds half.

34.00: Penalty to the Reds. Goromaru lines up the kick. He nails it. The scores are level.

36.00: The Reds concede a penalty after the restart so the Force have a kickable penalty. Lance slots the kick and the Force lead again.

39.00: The Reds try to run the ball but then they kick and chase. The Force get back and kick for touch.

40.00: The Reds win the line out in the Force’s 22. Samu Kerevi chips ahead and the Force snatch the ball and attack. The Reds get back but then concede a penalty.

41.00: Lance lines up the kick.  He nails it.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Reds 3 Force 9 

The Force kick off and the second half is underway.

41.00: The Reds win an early penalty. They kick for touch.

43.00:The Reds win a line out and go through three phases and then kick and chase. They win the ball back and continue the running attack. The Force concede a penalty for not rolling away.

45.00: Goromaru takes the penalty kick and misses.

48.00: The Force get the ball in their half and run at the Reds, they get caught recycle the ball and win a penalty as the Reds are offside. Lance lines up the kick and nails it.

52.00: Rob Simmons concedes a penalty so the Force have another penalty. Lance kicks for touch.

58.00: The Reds work the ball down to the Force’s 22 with a line out. The Force however win the line out and then a penalty. They kick for touch.

62.00: Penalty to the Reds. Goromaru lines up the kick but it hits the posts.

65.00: The Reds win another penalty in front for offside and playing the ball on the ground. This one Goromaru slots.

69.00: The Force attack the Reds in the Reds 22. They go through 10 phases before the Reds turn the ball over and kick for touch.

72.00: Penalty to the Force. Lance slots the kick and extends the lead.

78.00: The Force are playing the game in the Reds half but also winding down the clock.

79.00: Lance puts the ball in the air and behind the Reds and Luke Morahan chases and scores – TRY! The TMO approves it.

80.00: Ian Prior adds the conversion.

Thats it.

The full time score is Reds 6 (3) Force 22 (9) 


Tries –
Pen – A. Goromaru 2
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – L.Morahan
Pen – J.Lance 5
Con – I.Prior
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 2:Damien Mitchelmore
TMO : George Ayoub


Queensland Reds

1. Ben Daley , 2. Saia Fainga’a , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Cadeyrn Neville , 5. Rob Simmons (C) , 6. Hendrik Tui , 7. Curtis Browning , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Nick Frisby , 10. Jake McIntyre , 11. Eto Nabuli , 12. Karmichael Hunt , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 15. Ayumu Goromaru (run-on debut)

Replacements : 16. Andrew Ready , 17. Sef Fa’agase , 18. Sam Talakai , 19. Ben Matwijow , 20. Michael Gunn , 21. Scott Gale , 22. Sam Greene , 23. Junior Laloifi (Queensland/Super Rugby debut)

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Guy Millar , 4. Steve Mafi , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Brynard Stander , 7. Matt Hodgson , 8. Angus Cottrell , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Jono Lance , 11. Semisi Masirewa , 12. Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea , 13. Ben Tapuai , 14. Luke Morahan , 15. Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements: 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Jermaine Ainsley , 19. Ross Haylett-Petty , 20. Ben McCalman , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Peter Grant , 23. Marcel Brache


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.