Super Rugby Previews

Reds v Waratahs Super Rugby Preview


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Queensland Reds and the
New South Wales Waratahs the Reds have won four and the Waratahs one.

The Waratahs won the last match between the teams earlier this year in March
5-32 in Sydney which ended a five match losing streak for the Sydney side.

Overall the Reds have played the Waratahs 22 times in Super Rugby and the Reds
have won 13 matches and the Waratahs have won 8 with one draw between the teams.

That gives the Reds a record of winning 59% of their matches against the Waratahs
at all venues.

The average score when the Reds play the Waratahs at all venues is : Reds 20
Waratahs 19.

In the 22 matches between the teams the Reds have had home advantage 11 times
and they have won 7 times or 64% of their matches.

The average score when the Reds play the Waratahs at home is : Reds 22 Waratahs

In 2014 the Reds have played 15 matches and won 5 (33%). They have played seven
matches at home and won 3 and lost four. That gives them a record of winning
43% of their home matches.

The Waratahs have played 15 matches as well and they have won 11 matches or
73%. They have played 7 matches away from home and won three matches and lost
four. That gives the Waratahs a record of winning 43% of their away matches.

In terms of selection the Waratahs will be without star fullback Israel Folau
so they will have Cam Crawford in the No.15 jersey. In the forwards Will Skelton
has been recalled to the starting lineup at lock, alongside Kane Douglas, while
Stephen Hoiles has held his spot at blindside flanker, captain Michael Hooper
is at openside and Wycliff Palu is the No. 8.

The Reds lost to the Force last week so they have made two changes to their
side with Nick Frisby being ruled due to a broken jaw so Scott Gale starts.
The other change sees Greg Holmes return to the starting lineup in place of
Ben Daley. Holmes missed last weekend with a knee complaint.

Liam Gill has been released by the Australian Sevens camp and will win his
50th cap. The Reds have really suffered with injuries this season and this week
is no different as two players could be making their debut which shows how depleted
the squad is at the end of the season.

The Waratahs have already qualified for the play offs and they have a home
semi-final and a bye next week. While the result will have no impact on their
standing they will want to maintain their standards and their winning streak
which is currently at six matches.

No other team in Super Rugby is enjoying a six match winning streak. No other
team this season has won six matches in a row so the Waratahs are deserved leaders
in the standings.

The Bookies
have given the Reds an 7 point start for this Match
– with an
offer of a FREE $250.00 Bet.
The Waratahs are in form and
have players performing across the field and should not struggle with a team
in 12th place. The Waratahs should win by 8.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in
the UK on Sky Sports 4/HD.

Average score: Reds 20 Waratahs 19

Last five results
01 Mar 2014 Reds v Waratahs 5-32 Sydney
13 Jul 2013 Reds v Waratahs 14-12 Sydney
23 Feb 2013 Reds v Waratahs 25-17 Brisbane
14 Jul 2012 Reds v Waratahs 32-16 Brisbane
25 Feb 2012 Reds v Waratahs 25-21 Sydney

Reds overall record against the Waratahs
Played 22 , Wins 13, Losses 8 , Draws 1

Match No. 118: Reds v Waratahs
Date :Saturday 12 July
Venue : Suncorp Stadium
Kick Off local: 19:40
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Matt O’Brien
Assistant Ref 2: Damien Mitchelmore
TMO:George Ayoub



1. James Slipper, 2. James Hanson, 3. Greg Holmes, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. James
Horwill (C), 6. Curtis Browning, 7. Beau Robinson, 8. Jake Schatz, 9. Scott
Gale (run-on debut), 10. Ben Lucas, 11. Lachie Turner, 12. Ben Tapuai, 13. Samu
Kerevi, 14. Rod Davies, 15. Mike Harris

Replacements : 16. Saia Fainga’a, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Albert Anae, 19. Dave
McDuling, 20. Liam Gill (potential 50th Queensland cap), 21. Sam Johnson, 22.
Jamie-Jerry Taulagi, 23. Chris Kuridrani (potential debut)


1. Benn Robinson , 2.Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Will Skelton 5.
Kane Douglas , 6. Stephen Hoiles , 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Wycliff Palu ,
9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13.
Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Cam Crawford .

Replacements (one to be omitted): 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Michael
Ala’alatoa , 19. Jacques Potgieter , 20. Mitchell Chapman , 21. Pat McCutcheon
, 22. Brendan McKibbin , 23. Jono Lance , 24.Taqele Naiyaravoro .

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.