Super Rugby

Reds v Waratahs Super Rugby Rd.5 Preview




The first Super Rugby match on Sunday for 2016 is in Brisbane where the Reds host the Waratahs at Suncorp Stadium.

The Reds and Waratahs have already played each other once this year as they met in the opening round and the Waratahs won 30-10 in Sydney.

Since then the Reds have played three more matches and their best result was a draw with the Blues last week.

The Waratahs have played two further matches and had a bye. They were beaten by the Brumbies in Round 2, had a bye in Round 3 and lost to the Highlanders last week.

The Reds have played the Waratahs 26 times in Super Rugby since 1996 and they have won 13 matches lost 12 matches and drawn one. In Brisbane the teams have played 13 matches and the Reds have won 7, lost five and drawn one.

That gives the Reds a record of winning 54% of their matches against the Waratahs. The average score when the Reds play the Waratahs in Brisbane is Reds 19 Waratahs 19.

The last two matches between these teams in Brisbane have both been won by the Waratahs who will be looking for a sixth consecutive victory over the Reds across all venues. The Reds have not beaten the Waratahs since July 2013.

The Reds have been given a big boost for this match as they have been able to name three Wallabies in the team for the first time. James Slipper, Liam Gill and Saia Fainga’a all return and are the only changes to the side that played the Blues.

Gill has been named to start at openside flanker, while prop Slipper and hooker Fainga’a have been named in the replacements.

This will be the first game of the season for Gill (lower back) and Slipper (shoulder/knee), while Fainga’a (foot) began the year as the side’s starting hooker but missed the last two matches.

The Waratahs have also had some good news on the injury front as Bernard Foley has been named in the team for the first time this year as one of six changes. Foley’s return means that Kurtley Beale moves to centre while Reece Robinson who has been named for his starting debut on the right wing.

There are three changes in the forwards with Club Captain Dave Dennis moving from flanker to lock, making way for hard-hitting local young gun, Jack Dempsey who is also set to make his run-on debut.

Jed Holloway has been recalled to the starting line-up in the number eight jersey after becoming the highest try-scoring reserve ever in a match for NSW with a hat-trick against the Highlanders.

The Waratahs highest capped player, Benn Robinson is back as a reinforcement on the bench after suffering a broken nose in round one.

Robinson joins Wycliff Palu, Matt Carraro and David Horwitz as the four changes to the replacements list.

The Bookies have given the Reds a 7 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. The Reds are still rebuilding and although they improved to earn a draw the Waratahs should win this by 7.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 1.

Average score: Reds 18 Waratahs 21

Last five results
27 Feb 2016 Reds v Waratahs 10-30 Sydney
13 Jun 2015 Reds v Waratahs 5-31 Sydney
07 Mar 2015 Reds v Waratahs 5-23 Brisbane
12 Jul 2014 Reds v Waratahs 3-34 Brisbane
01 Mar 2014 Reds v Waratahs 5-32 Sydney

Reds overall record against the Waratahs
Played 26 , Wins 13 , Losses 12, Draws 1

Match No.41:Reds v Waratahs
Date : Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Venue : Sunday 27 March 2016
Kick Off local: 15:05 local
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1:Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 2:Damien Mitchelmore
TMO :George Ayoub



1. Sef Fa’agase , 2. Andrew Ready , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Cadeyrn Neville , 5. Rob Simmons (C) , 6. Hendrik Tui , 7. Liam Gill , 8. Jake Schatz , 9. Nick Frisby , 10. Jake McIntyre , 11. Eto Nabuli , 12. Anthony Fainga’a , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Feauai-Sautia , 15. Karmichael Hunt

Replacments : 16. Saia Fainga’a , 17. James Slipper , 18. Sam Talakai , 19. Ben Matwijow , 20. Curtis Browning , 21. Scott Gale , 22. Sam Greene , 23. Ayumu Goromaru.


1. Paddy Ryan , 2. Tolu Latu (31 caps) , 3. Angus Ta’avao (51 caps) , 4. Dean Mumm (89 caps) , 5. David Dennis (VC ) , 6. Jack Dempsey (6 caps) , 7. Michael Hooper (C) , 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Zac Guildford , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Rob Horne , 14. Reece Robinson , 15. Israel Folau

Replacements: 16. Hugh Roach , 17. Benn Robinson , 18. Tom Robertson , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Wycliff Palu , 21. Matt Lucas , 22. David Horwitz , 23. Matt Carraro ,


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.