Super Rugby

Reds beat Chiefs in Townsville




The Chiefs have won their last five Super Rugby games on the bounce against the Queensland Reds, conceding an average of just 10 points per game in that span.

The Queensland Reds have lost their last two Super Rugby games on the bounce, conceding 103 points in the process; the last time they lost more in succession was a four-game stretch across the 2019 and 2020 Super Rugby seasons.

  • The Chiefs have won 14 of their last 16 Super Rugby games against Australian opponents (L2), including their last three on the bounce across which they have not conceded more than 19 points in a game.
  • The Queensland Reds are the only team yet to score a try from possession begun with a scrum in Super Rugby Trans-Tasman; the Chiefs have scored three tries via this method.
  • Damian McKenzie has made 22 kicks in general play this Super Rugby Trans-Tasman campaign, the most of any player in the competition and seven more than Queensland Reds’ best Bryce Hegarty (15).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at QLD Country Stadium, Townsville.

3.00: A big scrum by the Reds earns the Queensland side a penalty. James O’Connor kicks to the 22.

5.00: Nothing comes of the lineout after Damian McKenzie wins the turnover to kickstart a counter-attack from 22 to 22. The Reds managed to win a penalty at the ruck, and clear.

6.00: The Chiefs win a penalty of their own at the next phase, and kick to the opposition’s half.

8.00: Reds win a scrum penalty, and clear their 22.

11.00: The Chiefs are starting to find space as the Reds begin to slip off tackles. Queensland missed 30 tackles versus the Crusaders and has already missed 10 in 11 minutes.

13.00: Bryce Hegarty clears the danger with a wonderful kick that bounces out by the opposition’s 22.

16.00: PENALTY TRY! The Reds camp on the Chiefs’ line, they went eight phases before Chase Tiatia almost intercepted O’Connor’s pass. Tiatia gets a yellow card as well, which is harsh. 7-0

18.00: Chiefs win a penalty at the breakdown, McKenzie calls for the tee – and to run down the clock.

19.00: PENALTY! McKenzie gets the Kiwis on the board. 7-3

21.00: This is going to be close, an arm-wrestle between two good sides.

22.00: TRY! Tate McDermott runs across the backline and puts Isaac Henry through a gap. Henry runs half the length of the field to score, it was brilliant by McDermott, who got hit late and high by McKenzie. 12-3

22.00: RED CARD! McKenzie is off. 12-3

23.00: MISS! The kick is wide 12-3

24.00: TRY! Suliasi Vunivalu slips Kaleb Trask’s weak tackle and raced away to score. WOW!

26.00: CONVERSION! O’Connor slots the kick. 19-3

29.00: The Reds are running the Chiefs ragged, especially in the wide channels. The Chiefs look vulnerable here, and if the Reds can get another try before halftime, this game will be over.

31.00: TRY! McDermott’s quick-tap penalty sets up the attack which leads to Feao Fotuaika crashing over from close range; that is the ball game. 24-3

32.00: CONVERSION! O’Connor slots another two. 26-3

35.00: It’s end-to-end in north Queensland. The Reds look good value to put 50 on the Kiwis because the pace and tempo is too much for a team to play with 13/14 men for a substantial amount of time.

37.00: TRY! Henry walks in for his second try, the Chiefs are ragged, they are tired, they are running out of defenders – call this one off. Stop the count. 31-3

38.00: CONVERSION! O’Connor makes no mistake. 33-3

41.00: The hooter sounds.

The halftime score was Queensland Reds 33 Chiefs 3

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Townsville, Queensland.

44.00: The Chiefs are back to 15 men, but the game is gone. They can only look to make sure this does not end in humiliation.

47.00: Chiefs have an attacking lineout but lose the ball: oh, dear!

50.00: The Chiefs are hanging by a thread.

51.00: TRY! Pita Gus Sowakula walks in for his side’s first try. 33-8

53.00: MISS! Trask pulls his kick wide. 33-8

57.00: TRY! Filipo Daugunu gets in on the act. This will get ugly. 38-8

58.00: CONVERSION! The kick is GOOD. 40-8

62.00: The Reds botched a sure try by not passing to the open man on the wing.

64.00: TRY! Tupou Vaa’i scores from a driving maul. 40-13

65.00: CONVERSION! Trask adds the extras. 40-15

68.00: TRY! Reuben O’Neill gets a score for the visitors. 40-20

69.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 40-22

72.00: Some good defending by the Chiefs sees the Kiwis win a turnover after being camped on their line.

75.00: A penalty to the Chiefs inside the opposition 22 sees the visitors take a quick-tap. Nothing comes from the attack, but the Chiefs have a scrum.

77.00: TRY! Bailyn Sullivan gets a try in the corner. 40-27

78.00: CONVERSION! Trask converts. 40-29

79.00: TRY! Shaun Stevenson breaks in midfield before sending Xavier Roe away in the corner. 40-34

80.00: MISS! The kick is no good. 40-34

81.00: The Reds hang on by the skin of their teeth.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Reds 40 (33) Chiefs 34 (3)


Tries – Penalty try, Henry (2), Vunivalu, Fotuaika, Daugunu
Pen –
Con – O’Connor (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Sowakula, Vaa’i, O’Neill, Sullivan, Roe
Pen – McKenzie
Con – Trask (2)
Drop –
Cards – Tiatia (Yellow, 16′), McKenzie (Red, 22′)

Match Officials
Referee: Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 1: Reuben Keane
Assistant Ref 2: Brett Cronan
TMO: Ian Smith



15 Bryce Hegarty, 14 Suliasi Vunivalu, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Isaac Henry, 11 Filipo Daugunu, 10 James O’Connor (co-captain), 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright (co-captain), 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Ryan Smith, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Feao Fotuaika

16 Josh Nasser, 17 Dane Zander, 18 Zane Nonggorr, 19 Seru Uru, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Ilaisa Droasese


15 Kaleb Trask, 14 Bailyn Sullivan, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Chase Tiatia, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Pita Gus Sowakula, 5 Tupou Vaa’i, 4 Mitchell Brown, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Bradley Slater, 1 Aidan Ross

16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Reuben O’Neill, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Zane Kapeli, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Quinn Tupaea, 23 Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.