Super Rugby

Rebels beat Reds in Brisbane




The Reds have played the Rebels 15 times in Super rugby since 2011 and the Reds have won 10 matches and lost 5 matches.

Those 10 Super rugby victories give the Reds a record of winning 67% of their matches against the Rebels regardless of the venue.

  • The Reds have won two of their last three Super Rugby games against the Rebels and will be looking to win back-to-back games against them for the first time since June 2013.
  • The Reds have won seven of their last 11 Super Rugby games on home turf, including three of their last four.
  • The Rebels have won each of their last two Australian derbies in Super Rugby despite trailing at half-time on each occasion.
  • The Rebels have seven line-out steals to their name this Super Rugby campaign, more than any other team in the competition.
  • Samu Kerevi (Reds) leads Super Rugby 2019 in both carries (66) and defenders beaten (24).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Rebels kick off and the match is underway.

1.00: The Rebels win a penalty. It’s in front of the posts so Quade Cooper will have a shot at the posts. He knows this ground well from his years with the Reds.

2.00: Cooper takes the kick and he nails it. Rebels lead.

4.00: The Reds win a penalty. Bryce Hegarty takes the kick and he nails it. The scores are level.

6.00: The Rebels get the ball in the Reds half and drive it forward with a maul. They do however infringe and the Reds win a penalty.

9.00: There is a break in play for an injury to a Rebels player. The game resumes with a scrum. The Rebels win the scrum but the Reds turn the ball over.

10.00: The Reds kick the ball away but fail to find touch. The Rebels counter attack but get stopped.

14.00: The Rebels put the Reds under pressure on their 5m line. Cooper goes for the line next to the post but he loses the ball in the tackle.

17.00: The Rebels have spent the last 10 minutes in the Rebels half testing the Reds defences. The Rebels win a line out and then a penalty.

19.00: Quade Cooper takes the penalty kick. He nails it. Rebels lead again.

22.00: Adam Coleman comes off for a HIA after taking a knock. The Reds get the ball into the Rebels half and then into the Reds 22 where they win a penalty. Hegarty kicks for touch.

26.00: The Rebels win a line out – the pass goes to the backs is forward but the ref is happy with the pass. Cooper chips the ball ahead and then Alex Mafi is flattened by Isi Naisarani in a tackle so there is a break in play.

29.00: The Rebels win a scrum in front of the posts. Genia chips it to the in-goal area but the Reds get back and boot the ball well upfield.

32.00: The Rebels decide to use the boot instead of running at the Reds and they find touch inside the Reds half.

34.00: Tate McDermott has a penalty goal attempt. He nails it.

35.00: The Reds win the line out and kick deep to set up a line out near the half way line.

The Rebels win the ball from a ruck on the line. The kick goes out wide and high in the air to the wing. Jack Maddocks jumps for the ball beating Hamish Stewart in the air and he drops to the ground and scores. TRY! 

40.00: As the siren sounds, Cooper misses the conversion.

The half time score was Reds 6 Rebels 11

The Rebels kick off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Rebels set up a rolling maul from inside the Reds 22. They drive over the line and Anaru Rangi drops to score. TRY!

44.00: Cooper curls in the conversion. The Reds have changed their front row.

46.00: Cooper chips the ball ahead on attack and chases it. Jack Maddocks uses his pace and gets to the ball and scores. TRY! 

48.00: Cooper takes the conversion kick and nails it. Off the post.

55.00: The Rebels put the ball in at the line out but they lose it forward. The Reds knock it forward too so there will be a scrum to the Reds.

58.00: The Reds break out from their own half as Kerevi has a big pacy run. He is caught but the Reds keep the ball alive and attack the line. After several flirts with the tryline, Brandon Paenga-Amosa dives over to score. But wait. The TMO will review it. There was a knock on by Tate Mcdermott so no try.

61.00: The Rebels clear the ball into touch after the scrum which gives the Reds a line out. They win the line out but kick it to the Rebels who boot it back and the Reds knock on.

66.00: The Rebels have a scrum inside the Reds half but it keeps collapsing. This holds up the game.

68.00: Penalty to the Reds for an infringement. They kick for touch and set up a line out.

69.00: The Reds win the line out in the Rebels half. After a couple of phases they win another penalty. The Reds kick to the corner.

74.00: The Reds get the ball to the Rebels 5m line. They launch attack after attack and then on the 5th phase the Reds go over. Taniela Tupou TRY!

75.00: Hegarty slots the conversion.

77.00: The Reds try to attack the Rebels in their 22 but they knock the ball on.

78.00: The Rebels want the bonus point for scoring three tries. They work the ball to the Reds 5m line. 7phases, 8 phases, pick and go but the Reds hold them out. 11 phases. On the 14th phase a trio of Rebels drive Rob Leota over the line and they score. TRY! Bonus point. 

79.00: Cooper takes the conversion kick as the siren sounds. He nails it. The Rebels have won.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Reds 13 (6) Rebels 32 (11)


Tries -T.Tupou
Pen – B.Hegarty 2, T.McDermott
Con -B.Hegarty
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -J. Maddocks 2, A.Rangi, R.Leota
Pen – Q.Cooper 2
Con – Q.Cooper 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry
Assistant Ref 2:Marius van der Westhuizen
TMO :James Leckie



1. JP Smith ,2. Alex Mafi ,3. Ruan Smith ,4. Izack Rodda,5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto ,6. Angus Scott-Young ,7. Liam Wright ,8. Scott Higginbotham ,9. Tate McDermott ,10. Bryce Hegarty,11. Sefa Naivalu ,12. Samu Kerevi (c),13. Chris Feauai-Sautia ,14. Filipo Daugunu ,15. Hamish Stewart ,

Replacements : 16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa,17. Harry Hoopert ,18. Taniela Tupou,19. Harry Hockings ,20. Fraser McReight ,21. Moses Sorovi,22. Duncan Paia’aua ,23. Isaac Lucas


1. Tetera Faulkner,2. Anaru Rangi,3. Sam Talakai (Vice Captain),4. Matt Philip,5. Adam Coleman,6. Luke Jones,7. Angus Cottrell (Captain),8. Isi Naisarani,9. Will Genia,10. Quade Cooper,11. Marika Koroibete,12. Billy Meakes,13. Tom English,14. Jack Maddocks,15. Reece Hodge

Replacements : 16. Robbie Abel,17. Matt Gibbon,18. Jermaine Ainsley,19. Esei Ha’angana,20. Rob Leota,21. Michael Ruru,22. Campbell Magnay,23. Sione Tuipulotu

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.