Super Rugby

Melbourne Rebels beat Reds in Brisbane



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The second match of Super Rugby Round 17 is in Brisbane where the Queensland Reds will host the Melbourne Rebels.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Reds kick off and the match is underway.

1.41: Sean McMahon gets the ball for the Rebels after a break from Toby Smith. McMahon races for the line and offloads to Tom English who scores. TRY!

2.00: Jack Debreczeni adds the conversion.

6.00: The Rebels are playing the game in the Reds half going through the phases.

7.00: The Rebels get into the Reds 22 on the 8th phase and they win a penalty.

9.00: The game is paused as Reece Hodge gets some help from the doctor. He carries on. The Rebels win a line out and then a penalty from the breakdown.

10.00: Debreczeni will have a shot at the posts. He nails it and the Rebels lead by 10.

13.00: The Reds win a penalty in the Rebels half. They take it quickly. The Reds go through five phases and Nick Frisby dives over to score. TRY!

15.00: Henry Taefu takes the conversion kick and nails it.

18.00: The Reds get the ball from a Rebels territorial kick. They run it out of their 22 and almost get to the half way line where they win a penalty for going off the feet.

20.00: The Rebels go through 8 phases and gradually get over the half way line. On the 11th phase they get the advantage so the Rebels chip the ball ahead and get called back for the penalty.

21.00: Debreczeni misses the penalty shot.

25.00: The Reds go through five phases on attack but the Rebels defence is rock solid and they make about 3m. They do however get the scrum put in.

28.00: Sean McMahon slips straight through the Reds defence and beats Frisby to the line and scores. TRY!

29.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion.

32.00: The Rebels get the ball into the Reds 22. They get the advantage. The Rebels take a quick tap and McMahon dives over for his second TRY!

33.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion.

36.00: The Rebels work the ball through five phases. The Reds turn the ball over in their 22 and begin the attack. Chris Kuridrani races down the line but the final pass goes forward.

38.00: The Reds get an intercept pass in the Rebels half. They get the ball into the Rebels 22 after three phases. The ball slows.

39.00: The Reds win a penalty in front of the posts. They choose a scrum in front of the posts.

41.00: The scrum collapses and then the Rebels get a free kick so they kick the ball into touch to end the half.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Reds 7 Rebels 24

The Rebels kick off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Reds win a penalty from the scrum and kick for touch. They win the line out and attack the Rebels in their 22.

45.00 The Reds get the ball moving down the line but the passing is poor and Kerevi loses the ball behind him. The Rebels kick it into touch.

46.00: Penalty to the Reds. They kick for touch and the line out.

The Red win the line out, they run the ball down the line and Liam Gill cuts back in and dives over to score. TRY!

49.00: Frisby adds the conversion. Greg Holmes comes off for the Reds.

49.00: The ball is kicked high and two players go for it. The TMO is called in as  Paul Asquith appears to have taken out Duncan Paia’aua in the air. It’s just a penalty which is really odd compared to most of the recent decisions in similar cases. The Reds take the line out.

51.00: The Reds win the line out and work the ball into the Rebels 22. The ball is lost forward.

54.00: The Reds are coming back in a big way. They keep the Rebels under pressure in their 22 and Samu Kerevi powers his way to the line and scores. TRY!

55.00: Frisby adds the conversion.

56.00: The Rebels hit straight back as Nic Stirzaker charges down a Duncan Paia’aua clearance kick and scores. TRY!

57.00: Debreczeni adds the conversion.

61.00: The Reds play the ball on the half way line but get called back for a knock on.

65.00: The game is being played on the half way line. The Reds win a line out and go through three phases before they knock on.

67.00: The Reds work the ball through 9 phases on attack in the Rebels 22. They go through 11 phases. On the 12th phase Kerevi goes for the line but is short. Gill goes on the 13th phase and scores. TRY!

69.00: Frisby converts the TRY!

71.00: Nic Stirzaker looks to have injured himself. He plays on though.

72.00: Reece Hodge is down getting some attention from the medics. He carries on but Stirzaker is off.

73.00: Penalty to the Reds for not releasing. Frisby kicks for touch.

74.00: The Reds win the line out. They go through the phases before there is a double knock on. Taniela Tupou is down injured. He has to come off which means Greg Holmes comes back on.

75.00: The Rebels win the scrum and clear the ball into touch.

76.00: The Rebels knock on after the line out so the Reds have a scrum. They win the scrum and Lukhan Tui has a run. The Reds steadily make ground through six phases – about 40m. They keep the ball moving.

77.00: 9 phases and still the Reds attack. The Rebels turn the ball over and kick deep.

79.00: Penalty to the Rebels. Debreczeni takes the kick for posts and hits the post.

80.00: The Reds keep the ball alive after the kick and try to run it out of their 22. They get a penalty. They kick for touch and the line out.

81.00: The Reds win the line out and work the ball into the Rebels 22. The ball is knocked on.

Thats it. The Rebels have won.

The full time score is Reds 28 (7) Rebels 31 (24) 


Tries – N.Frisby, L.Gill 2, S.Kerevi
Pen –
Con – H.Taefu, N.Frisby 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – T.English, S.McMahon 2, N.Stirzaker
Pen –  J.Debreczeni
Con – J.Debreczeni 4
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Will Houston
Assistant Ref 1: Andrew Lees
Assistant Ref 2:Amy Perrett
TMO : George Ayoub


Queensland Reds

1. Sef Fa’agase , 2. Andrew Ready , 3. Greg Holmes , 4. Cadeyrn Neville , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Hendrik Tui , 7. Liam Gill (C) , 8. Curtis Browning , 9. Nick Frisby , 10. Duncan Paia’aua , 11. Eto Nabuli , 12. Henry Taefu , 13. Samu Kerevi , 14. Chris Kuridrani , 15. Tom Banks (run-on debut)

Replacements : 16. Saia Fainga’a , 17. Ben Daley , 18. Taniela Tupou , 19. Lukhan Tui , 20. Michael Gunn , 21. James Tuttle , 22. Alex Gibbon , 23. Campbell Magnay ,

Melbourne Rebels

1. Toby Smith , 2. James Hanson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Culum Retallick , 6. Sean McMahon , 7. Jordy Reid , 8. Colby Fainga’a , 9. Nic Stirzaker (captain) , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Tom English , 12. Reece Hodge , 13. Mitch Inman , 14. Sefa Naivalu , 15. Paul Asquith

Reserves , 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Cruze Ah Nau , 18. Jamie Hagan , 19. Sam Jeffries , 20. Rob Leota , 21. Ben Meehan , 22. Sione Tuipulotu , 23. Jack Maddocks*


Recommended for you

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.