Super Rugby

Rona returns for Waratahs against Sharks




Waratahs Super rugby head coach Daryl Gibson has named a relatively unchanged side to play the Sharks on Saturday at the newly unveiled Bankwest Stadium.

After a solid win over the Melbourne Rebels last weekend, the NSW Waratahs have named a relatively unchanged side with Rona to start on the wing, and Tolu Latu returning to the squad and set to come off the bench.

Gibson said the team is looking forward to taking Super Rugby to Western Sydney.

“We are very excited to be going to Western Sydney. The venue looks fantastic and we will have the opportunity to have our first real look at it for tomorrow’s Captain’s Run,” he said.

It will be a blockbuster night of rugby at Bankwest Stadium on Saturday night, with local Shute Shield teams West Harbour and Western Sydney Two Blues set to play the curtain raiser match as part of round four of the Intrust Shute Shield.


15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes

Replacements:16 Tolu Latu, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Lachlan Swinton 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Alex Newsome

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.