Rugby Championship News

Rugby Championship Rd.4 Team vs Team Preview




The fourth round of the 2017 Rugby Championship sees New Zealand hosting South Africa at QBE Stadium, Auckland and Australia hosting Argentina at GIO Stadium,Canberra.

After last week’s results New Zealand have retaken the lead in the standings and South Africa are back in second.

Australia earned their first points from their draw and are still third and Argentina are placed last.

New Zealand v South Africa Championship Rd.4 Preview

Victory this weekend for New Zealand will allow the All Blacks to put one hand on the Rugby Championship trophy but they will have to work for victory.

South Africa are growing in confidence with every week and although they didn’t win last weekend the draw away from home has kept them in the hunt for the title.

The All Blacks have won the last four clashes between these two sides as the Springboks last beat New Zealand in October 2014 in Johannesburg. That victory is the Springboks only victory in the last ten matches between the sides.

Overall New Zealand have played South Africa 93 times and they have won 55 matches and lost 35 matches. There have been three draws over the years so the All Blacks have a record of winning 59% of their matches against South Africa.

On New Zealand soil the All Blacks have won the last seven matches. September 2009 was the last time the All Blacks lost to South Africa at home. The teams have met 42 times in New Zealand and the All Blacks have won 31 matches or 74% of their home matches.

The Bookies have given South Africa an 18 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. Although the Springboks are improving and a few teams have tested the All Blacks this season the New Zealand should be too strong for South Africa. New Zealand should win by 15. 

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports.

Average score: New Zealand 20 South Africa 16

Last five results
Sat, 08 Oct 2016 NZL v SAF 57-15 Kings Park Stadium, Durban
Sat, 17 Sep 2016 NZL v SAF 41-13 Rugby League Pk, Christchurch
Sat, 24 Oct 2015 WC Semi NZL v SAF 20-18 Twickenham, London
Sat, 25 Jul 2015 NZL v SAF 27-20 Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Sat, 04 Oct 2014 NZL v SAF 25-27 Ellis Park, Johannesburg

New Zealand’s overall record against South Africa
Played 93, Wins 55, Losses 35, Draws 3

New Zealand’s winning percentage = 59 %

Match Officials
: Nigel Owens (WRU)
Assistant Ref 1: Angus Gardner (ARU)
Assistant Ref 2: Matthew Carley (RFU)
TMO : George Ayoub (ARU)


New Zealand

1. Kane Hames, 2. Dane Coles, 3. Nepo Laulala , 4. Brodie Retallick, 5. Samuel Whitelock, 6. Liam Squire, 7. Sam Cane, 8. Kieran Read (c), 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Beauden Barrett, 11. Rieko Ioane , 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 13. Ryan Crotty, 14. Nehe Milner-Skudde, 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Codie Taylor, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Ofa Tu’ungafasi , 19. Scott Barrett , 20. Ardie Savea, 21. TJ Perenara , 22. Lima Sopoaga , 23. Anton Lienert-Brown

South Africa

(updated following Ross Cronje’s withdrawal)

15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Raymond Rhule, 13. Jesse Kriel, 12. Jan Serfontein , 11. Courtnall Skosan , 10. Elton Jantjies , 9. Francois Hougaard, 8. Uzair Cassiem , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Siya Kolisi, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Eben Etzebeth (c), 3. Ruan Dreyer , 2. Malcolm Marx, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. Bongi Mbonambi , 17. Steven Kitshoff , 18. Trevor Nyakane , 19. Lood de Jager, 20. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 21. Rudy Paige, 22. Handré Pollard, 23. Damian de Allende

Australia v Argentina Rugby Championship Rd.4 Preview

Australia were left frustrated last weekend with their draw against South Africa while Argentina will be disappointed at the way they let their lead against the All Blacks slip.

Argentina delivered their best performance of the season last weekend in New Zealand and given the way they were hit by fatigue in the second half another big performance on tour may be too much to ask.

Australia have won the last four matches between these two teams as Argentina’s last victory over the Wallabies was in October 2014. Overall the sides have met 27 times and Australia have won 21 matches, lost five and drawn one. This gives Australia a record of winning 78% of their matches against Argentina.

On Australian soil the Wallabies have won the last 12 matches consecutively against Argentina. The teams have met 13 times in Australia and Argentina’s Pumas have only won once – in 1983.

This gives Australia a record of winning 92% of their home matches against Argentina at home.

The Bookies have given Argentina a 13 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. Australia will have too much skill – especially in the backs – for Argentina this weekend. Australia should win by 10 points. 

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports.

Average score:Australia 27 Argentina 16

Last five results
Sat, 08 Oct 2016 AUS v ARG 33-21 Twickenham, London
Sat, 17 Sep 2016 AUS v ARG 36-20 Perth Oval
Sun, 25 Oct 2015 WC Semi AUS v ARG 29-15 Twickenham, London
Sat, 25 Jul 2015 AUS v ARG 34-9Mendoza
Sat, 04 Oct 2014 AUS v ARG 17-21 Mendoza

Australia’s overall record against Argentina
Played 27 , Wins 21 , Losses 5 , Draws 1

Australia’s winning percentage = 78%

Match Officials
Referee: John Lacey (IRFU)
Assistant Ref 1: Glen Jackson (NZR)
Assistant Ref 2: Paul Williams (NZR)
TMO : Ben Skeen (NZR)



1. Scott Sio, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Rob Simmons , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Ned Hanigan, 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Sean McMahon , 9. Will Genia (vc), 10. Bernard Foley (vc) , 11. Reece Hodge, 12. Kurtley Beale, 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Israel Folau,

Replacements : 16. Jordan Uelese , 17. Tom Robertson, 18. Allan Alaalatoa , 19. Izack Rodda , 20. Jack Dempsey , 21. Nick Phipps, 22. Samu Kerevi , 23. Marika Koroibete*

*denotes uncapped


Emiliano Boffelli, Matias Moroni, Matias Orlando, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Ramiro Moyano, Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo, Tomas Lezana, Javier Ortega Desio, Pablo Matera, Matias Alemanno, Guido Petti, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Agustin Creevy (c), Lucas Noguera.

Replacements : Julian Montoya, Santiago Garcia Botta, Enrique Pieretto, Marcos Kremer, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Manuel Montero.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.