Rugby Championship News

Sanzaar confirm re-arranged dates for 2021 Rugby Championship




Rugby Championship administrators Sanzaar have confirmed the re-arranged dates for the Rugby Championship which will resume next month in Perth, Western Australia.

The match that was to be played this weekend on Saturday 28 August, has been rescheduled for 1400 (AWST) on Sunday 5 September at Optus Stadium, Perth, Western Australia.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

SANZAAR confirmed that eight matches of the tournament will now be staged in Queensland after SANZAAR and the national unions were able to agree to suitable travel, accommodation and quarantine arrangements as regulated by the Queensland state government.

Unfortunately, this means there will be no matches played in New South Wales (Sydney and Newcastle), Australian Capital Territory (Canberra) or New Zealand (Auckland and Dunedin) as previously scheduled.

SANZAAR CEO Brendan Morris stated, “We thought last year was tough when we had to implement a Tri-nations tournament in Australia with South Africa absent due to the pandemic, but the current disruption caused by the ‘delta variant’ of COVID-19 has seen government authorities tighten up border bio-security measures substantially.

“This is totally understandable but after exploring several options, including moving the tournament to South Africa and even Europe, we now look forward with excitement to the remainder of The Rugby Championship in Queensland. Indeed, I am delighted on behalf of the SANZAAR stakeholders that we can now complete this world-class rugby tournament.”

“We are very excited about this unique format and rugby experience as we look to deliver a month of “Double Headers” with the world’s best players in Queensland, something never done in international rugby before.”

“On behalf of SANZAAR and the national unions, I would like to sincerely thank the Queensland Government for working with us and providing a travel, accommodation, training and playing environment that will allow us to safely complete the tournament. SANZAAR and the National Unions will now work closely with the states’ health authorities to ensure all bio-security measures are adhered to.”

“I personally want to thank Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk, Queensland Chief Health Officer Dr Jeannette Young, as well as John Lee of the Department of Tourism, Innovation and Sport, and their respective departments for their tireless efforts in supporting this tournament.”

“SANZAAR would also like to recognise the tournaments’ various commercial partners, our television broadcast rights holders and the fans for their patience and for their flexibility and understanding in this difficult time.”

Queensland Sport Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the Palaszczuk Government had worked quickly with SANZAAR to put in place strict quarantine requirements for the 2021 Rugby Championship matches to go ahead in Queensland.

“The four international Rugby doubleheaders to be played in Queensland will take place under non-negotiable Covid-safe conditions for the safety of players and spectators,” Mr. Hinchliffe said.

“Queensland’s Chief Health Officer has insisted on stringent bio-security measures for the eight matches to be played in front of spectators at Suncorp Stadium, Cbus on the Gold Coast and Townsville’s Queensland Country Bank Stadium.”

“Although there’s plenty for Rugby fans in Queensland to be excited about, I want to make it clear the cost of relocating and quarantine for the remainder of the 2021 Rugby Championship is at the expense of SANZAAR.”

“While the relocation of the 2021 championship is a bonus for Rugby-loving Queenslanders, we know this tournament will also be a bitter-sweet experience.”

“Many Queensland fans continue to be concerned for the welfare of interstate family and friends in tough, ongoing lockdowns because of the pandemic’s Delta strain,” added Mr Hinchliffe.

On the re-arrangement of the Bledisloe cup match originally scheduled for 28 August, SANZAAR CEO Brendan Morris said: “It is great that we now have the final piece of the jigsaw puzzle in place following all the hard work that has been done recently to secure The Rugby Championship tournament. We now have all remaining nine matches in place and rugby fans in Perth can now purchase tickets with certainty to this block-buster Rugby Championship match.”

“Following the match, which is also the third Bledisloe Cup match between the two arch-rivals, both teams will move to Queensland where the remainder of the tournament will be staged from Sunday 12 September to Saturday 2 October, as announced by the Queensland Government yesterday.”

“SANZAAR would like to make special mention of the West Australian government and the management of Optus Stadium in Perth who have been very supportive of this fixture and have made it happen.”

The kick-off times for the remaining eight matches to be played in Queensland will be announced shortly.

2021 Rugby Championship Match Schedule

Round 1
Saturday 14 August: New Zealand 57 v Australia 22 [Eden Park, Auckland]
Saturday 14 August: South Africa 32 v Argentina 12 [Mandela Stadium, Port Elizabeth]

Round 2
Saturday 21 August: Argentina 10 v South Africa 29 [Mandela Stadium, Port Elizabeth]
Sunday 5 September: Australia v New Zealand: Optus Stadium, Perth (1400 AWST)

Round 3
Sunday 12 September: New Zealand v Argentina: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast
Sunday 12 September: South Africa v Australia: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast

Round 4
Saturday 18 September: Argentina v New Zealand: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Saturday 18 September: Australia v South Africa: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Round 5
Saturday 25 September: New Zealand v South Africa: QLD Country Bank Stadium, Townsville
Saturday 25 September: Australia v Argentina: QLD Country Bank Stadium, Townsville

Round 6
Saturday 2 October: South Africa v New Zealand: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast
Saturday 2 October: Argentina v Australia: CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast

Confirmed match official appointments:

South Africa v Australia (CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast)
Date: Sunday, 12 September
Referee: Luke Pearce (RFU)
Assistant Referee 1: Damon Murphy (RA)
Assistant Referee 2: Jordan Way (RA)
TMO: Matthew Carley (RFU)

Australia v South Africa (Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane)
Date: Saturday, 18 September
Referee: Matthew Carley (RFU)
Assistant Referee 1: Luke Pearce (RFU)
Assistant Referee 2: Graham Cooper (RA)
TMO: Brett Cronan (RA)

New Zealand v South Africa (Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville)
Date: Saturday, 25 September
Referee: Luke Pearce (RFU)
Assistant Referee 1: Jaco Peyper (SARU)
Assistant Referee 2: Angus Gardner (RA)
TMO: Damon Murphy (RA)

South Africa v New Zealand (CBUS Super Stadium, Gold Coast)
Date: Saturday, 2 October
Referee: Matthew Carley (RFU)
Assistant Referee 1: Damon Murphy (RA)
Assistant Referee 2: Angus Gardner (RA)
TMO: James Leckie (RA)

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.