Sharks

SANZAR appeal Frans Steyn’s not guilty ruling

By

on

 


 

Super Rugby’s organisers SANZAR have appealed the outcome of Sharks centre
Francois Steyn’s hearing for a dangerous tackle.

Earlier this week Judicial Hearing Chairman Jannie Lubbe SC found Steyn not
guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackling, after he was sent off
in a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

SANZAR were not happy with the original outcome so the body has lodged an appeal
against the outcome.

A SANZAR Appeals Committee, chaired by Terry Willis, with Nigel Hampton QC
and Robert Stelzner SC as members, will hear the appeal via videoconference
on Friday 27 March 2015 at 5pm AEDT, 7pm NZDT, 8am SAST.

The incident occurred in the 28th minute of the match between the Sharks and
Chiefs at Kings Park in Durban in the match between the Sharks and the Chiefs
when Steyn tackled Aaron Cruden.

Law 10.4 (j) Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that
player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground
such that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the
ground is dangerous play.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.