Super 14 Rugby

SARugby decides on 5th Franchise



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The parties present at the President’s Council meeting held on 8 June 2005 at the Intercontinental Sandton Sun agreed the following in respect of the franchise system in South Africa for the Super 14 Competition.

1. That a formal legal agreement shall be drafted immediately confirming what was agreed regarding the Super 14 franchise system in South Africa.

2. The South Eastern (SE) Cape Franchise shall be financially supported by SA RUGBY / SARU in respect of their development during 2006. In light thereof SA RUGBY / SARU must procure sponsorships for the SE Cape Franchise for the 2006 season.

3. The SE Cape franchise shall be entrenched in the Super 14 Competition for the 2007 & 2008 rugby seasons.

4. The South African team finishing at the bottom of the log in 2006 will automatically be replaced by the SE Cape for the 2007 season.

5. At the end of the 2007 Super 14 season, the South African franchise team which is last on the Super 14 log, excluding the SE Cape, shall play in a promotion relegation match against the franchise team who did not play in the 2007 Super 14 competition.

6. That the decision which was taken at the meeting on 15 April 2005 in respect of the South African franchise system, are hereby amended in order to reflect the above agreement.

7. That the Falcons Rugby Union will form part of the Blue Bulls franchise.

8. SA RUGBY shall within 21 days as from 8 June 2005, compile a “White Paper” in respect of the total SA RUGBY’S competition structure

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.