Rugby Championship News

Savea returns for All Blacks against Wallabies




New Zealand head coach Steve Hansen has named his All Blacks team to play Australia’s Wallabies in the third and final Bledisloe Cup Test, at Eden Park, Auckland, on Saturday.

Hansen’s All Black team features just three changes to the side that beat South Africa in Durban and all three changes are in the backline.

Winger Julian Savea returns to the 11 jersey, after being given a break in South Africa. Aaron Cruden has been named in the replacements, after proving his fitness in Manawatu’s Mitre 10 Cup match on Friday, with Malakai Fekitoa also coming onto the replacements bench.

All Blacks Head Coach Steve Hansen said: “The squad is feeling refreshed and raring to go after our return from South Africa, and we’re all looking forward to what we know is a hugely-anticipated Test match at Eden Park. We’ve been focussed in our preparation this week and there’s a strong resolve within the group to put in another performance we can be proud of.

“Australia will be coming here with a lot more confidence than when we played earlier in the season. They’ve made some significant changes to their game and would like nothing better to end their Southern Hemisphere Test season with a win. They’ve said they are keen to bring it on, and have outlined their intentions, so the stage is set for another huge trans-Tasman battle. It’s a challenge we’re really looking forward to.”

Meanwhile, loose forward Sam Cane, winger Waisake Naholo and halfback replacement Augustine Pulu will be available to play for their respective provinces in their Mitre 10 Cup semifinal matches this weekend.

Steve Hansen said: “On behalf of the All Blacks, we want to wish Glenn Moore and the Black Ferns all the very best for their Test match.”

New Zealand

1. Joe Moody , 2. Dane Coles , 3. Owen Franks , 4. Brodie Retallick , 5. Samuel Whitelock , 6. Jerome Kaino , 7. Matt Todd , 8. Kieran Read (c), 9. TJ Perenara , 10. Beauden Barrett , 11. Julian Savea , 12. Ryan Crotty , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown , 14. Israel Dagg , 15. Ben Smith ,

Replacements : 16. Codie Taylor, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Charlie Faumuina , 19. Liam Squire, 20. Ardie Savea , 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Aaron Cruden, 23. Malakai Fekitoa

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.