Sharks beat Cheetahs in Durban



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Match number five is the first South African conference match for the 2011 Super Rugby season and is between the Sharks and the Cheetahs in Durban.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off


The Sharks lost captain John Smit with a calf injury before the match and he was replaced by the Beast Tendai Mtawarira. Sharks coach John Plumtree did not want to risk Smit.  


We are underway.


3.00: The Sharks get a rolling maul and Jacques Botes gets driven over and scores.


9.00: Penalty to the Sharks for Cheetahs not rolling away. Lambie takes the kick and nails it.


23.00: Keegan Daniel comes on as blood replacement for Jacques Botes.


28.00: Stefan Terblanche kicks for touch and just finds it. Again disappointing crowd. None of the stadiums have been full this weekend.


30.00: Cheetahs have stolen two of the Sharks line outs. This one the third is a free kick to the Cheetahs.


33.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs.Naas Olivier takes the kick and nails it.


36.00: The weather in Durban is not ideal as it is raining. Penalty to the Sharks. Terblanche misses.


38.00: Another penalty to the Sharks. Terblanche has another kick for posts but again misses. Jacques Botes has been ruled out so Keegan Daniel will stay on.


39.00: Sharks on attack and Kankowski knocks on.


The siren goes for half time. It is half time.


The half time score was Sharks 8 Cheetahs 3


The second half is underway.


43.00: Keegan Daniel gives away a penalty for tackling a player without the ball so Naas Olivier takes a kick at the posts and nails it.


48.00: Ryno Benjamin is caught offside so the Sharks have a penalty. Lambie will take the shot at posts.


49.00: Lambie nails the kick and the Sharks have a five point lead again.


53.00: Another penalty to the Sharks. Lambie nails it.


58.00: Referee Craig Joubert is struggling with the scrums. He issues a warning to both teams.


62.00: This match is unusually slow but the Cheetahs have suddenly burst into life and start looking dangerous. The attack wins them a penalty.


63.00: Naas Olivier takes the kick and nails it.


67.00: The Sharks start to up the pace of the game and grind the ball up to the Cheetahs tryline. As they get close Charl Macleod knocks on.


68.00: The Sharks drive again and this time Bismarck du Plessis goes over and scores!!


69.00: Patrick Lambie takes the kick and nails it.


70.00:Jacques-Louis Potgieter comes on for the Sharks against his former team.


73.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Jacques-Louis Potgieter takes the kick but misses.


75.00: Another penalty to the Sharks and this time Jacques-Louis Potgieter nails it.


78.00: The Sharks work the ball forward but the Cheetahs hold them out.


80.00: The whistle goes for full time – thats it. The Sharks win.


The final score is Sharks 24 Cheetahs 9


Tries – Jacques Botes,Bismarck du Plessis
Pen – P. Lambie 3,Jacques-Louis Potgieter 
Con – P Lambie
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – N Olivier 3
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials :
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2:Cobus Wessels
TMO : Shaun Veldsman


The Sharks :15. Louis Ludik , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Stefan Terblanche , 12. Meyer Bosman , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Jacques Botes , 5. Alistair Hargreaves , 4. Steven Sykes , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 1. Tendai Mtawarira


Replacements , 16. Craig Burden, 17. Eugene van Staden , 18. Anton Bresler , 19. Keegan Daniel , 20. Conrad Hoffmann , 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter , 22. Adrian Jacobs

Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Philip Burger, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Ryno Benjamin, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Kabamba Floors, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Kobus Calldo, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.