Sharks beat Highlanders in Dunedin



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Overall Dunedin has not been a happy hunting ground for South African sides. It was only two years ago that the Springboks ended their drought at the House of Pain.

However, for the Sharks it is a different story as they have won their last three matches at Dunedin.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. The match is underway.


1.00: The Highlanders start strongly and get the ball to within 5m of the Sharks line.


2.00: The attack comes to nothing as the ball gets passed out wide and then rolls out.


4.00: It’s pretty much all the Highlanders who are doing all the work. They do however knock on and hand the Sharks a scrum.


7.00: Sharks start to get some rythmn and they run the ball into the Highlanders half. The Sharks get a penalty for not coming through the gate. Pienaar takes the penalty kick at the posts and nails it.


10.00: Highlanders win the ball from a Sharks line out. They go to the boot and Lambie is there and runs it until he is stopped.


11.00: We have brief session of aerial ping pong and then Andy Goode has a kick charged down but the ball goes dead.


12.00: Thomson makes a break for the Highlanders. They recycle as they get to the line. Sharks defence is strong so the Highlanders go again. Sharks give away a penalty.


14.00: Highlanders choose to scrum. They drive to the line. As they recycle the Sharks get the ball and then knock on.


16.00: It’s all the Highlanders in the Sharks 25 and they are 10m out. They keep hitting a brick wall. The Sharks then give away a penalty so Cowan says they will kick the penalty. Dagg nails it and it’s 3 all.


18.00: Dagg makes a break and gets the Highlanders over the gain line. It gives the Highlanders momentum. The Sharks secondary defence is strong though. Possession is almost 85 per cent for the Highlanders


21.00: The touchie comes in to report on Keegan Daniel who tackled a player without the ball. He gets a warning as it is his second offence. Dagg kicks for posts and puts the Highlanders into the lead.


23.00: The Sharks snipe and look their most dangerous by far. They get the ball against the post – it’s a mess, bodies everywhere so we go upstairs to check. The try is awarded.


24.00: Ruan Pienaar nails the conversion.


26.00: Sharks give away a penalty almost on the half way line. Dagg takes the shot from just inside his half. It’s short and off direction.


30.00: The match has slowed down now. John Smit is on for the Sharks.


32.00: Highlanders win a penalty after Kankowski infringed at the scrum. The Highlanders go for the line out. It’s not straight so the Sharks have a scrum.


36.00: Sharks lose the ball forward so the Highlanders get a scrum inside their half. They win the scrum but the Sharks tackle straight away. Highlanders swing the ball out and then kick and it gets charged down and rolls out.


38.00: Sharks give away a penalty for hands in the ruck. Dagg takes the kick but again misses.


40.00: The siren goes. The Sharks keep the ball alive but the Highlanders turn it over but they lose it forward.


It’s half time.


The half time score is Highlanders 6 Sharks 10


The second half is underway.


42.00: Sharks start well. Kankoswki makes a break but his pass goes to ground.


43.00: The Sharks swing the ball around and attack with confidence. A pass to Terblanche goes to ground. The Sharks regather and attack again. It’s a fast and furious start.


46.00: Sharks still on attack but Kockott comes on for Goode. Pienaar will move to 10.


50.00: Michael Hobbs puts his head down and drives for the line and comes close but the Sharks give away a penalty. Dagg adds the penalty.


53.00: The Highlanders give away a penalty so Ruan Pienaar takes the kick and slots it from a fair distance out.  


56.00: The Highlanders give away another penalty so Ruan Pienaar takes another kick at posts and again nails it.


59.00: The Sharks run the ball more aggresively and it starts to pay dividends as they get to within 5m. Terblanche loses the ball forward in front of the posts.


62.00: The Sharks have put the squeeze on the Highlanders in the last few minutes. They swing the ball around and as they go through the phases Stefan Terblanche goes over for the Sharks second try.


63.00: Ruan Pienaar nails the conversion.


67.00; The Highlanders are not done yet as Ben Smith breaks through a Sharks tackle and his momentum carries him over the line for the Highlanders first try.


68.00: Israel Dagg adds the conversion.


72.00: The Highlanders look hungry now that they are back to within 7. They swing the ball around and Kankowski intercepts and darts off but is called back.


74.00: The Highlanders continue to attack as Hobbs puts his head down again but gets stopped. Ben Smith has a run on the other side after the Highlanders recycle. The Sharks defence is holding them out but it’s a strong attack from the Highlanders.


75.00: The Highlanders swing the ball out to Fetu’,u Vainikolo on the wing and he flies off and scores in the corner. Or does he? We go upstairs. No try. Sharks breathe a sigh of relief.


77.00: Well thats it – the Sharks must win now. Adi Jacobs lines up the Highlanders back line and he intercepts a pass and runs off to score the try that will surely seal the victory.


78.00: Ruan Pienaar nails the conversion.


80.17: The siren sounds and the Sharks are looking for the bonus point try. A forward pass goes in and that’s it. The Sharks win.



The full time score is Highlanders 16 Sharks 30


Tries – B Smith
Pen – I Dagg 3
Con -I Dagg
Drop –
Cards –


Tries –  B du Plessis , S Terblanche , A Jacobs
Pen – R Pienaar 3
Con – R Pienaar 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jonathon White (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand), Kane McBride (New Zealand)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)


Highlanders – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Kenny Lynn, 12 Michael Hobbs, 11 James Paterson, 10 Robbie Robinson, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Adam Thomson, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 John Hardie, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.

Reserves: 16 Jason Macdonald, 17 Chris King, 18 Joe Tuineau, 19 Tim Boys/Steven Setephano, 20 Sean Romans, 21 Jayden Hayward, 22 Fetu’,u Vainikolo

Sharks – 15. Patrick Lambie , 14. Stefan Terblanche , 13. Adrian Jacobs , 12. Riaan Swanepoel , 11. JP Pietersen , 10. Andy Goode , 9. Ruan Pienaar , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Johann Muller ( C ) , 4. Steven Sykes , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements 16. Craig Burden , 17. John Smit , 18. Alistair Hargreaves , 19. Willem Alberts , 20. Jacques Botes , 21. Rory Kockott , 22. Waylon Murray

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.