Sharks beat Stormers in Cape Town


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Out of the last five Super Rugby matches between the Johannesburg based Stormers and the Bloemfontein based Sharks the Stormers have won three and the Sharks two.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. The Sharks have lost Cobus Reinach and Charl MacLeod starts.

NOTE : To overtake the Crusaders and finish second the Sharks need to beat the Stormers by 35 points and get a four try bonus point.

The Sharks kick off and we are underway.

1.00: Penalty to the Sharks from the line out. They will kick for posts.

2.00: Steyn misses the kick.

3.00: The Sharks run the ball out of their 22 and then they chip ahead. The Stormers run it back but then the Sharks win a penalty. They will kick again.

4.00; Steyn slots the penalty. The Sharks lead.

6.00:  Bismarck du Plessis gets some help from the medics. He was driven out of the ruck by Tiaan Liebenberg. Penalty to the Sharks.

11.00: The Sharks are caught offside so the Stormers kick for touch and set up a line out.

14.00: The Sharks are being pinned back in their 22. Willem Alberts is yellow carded for offside. The Stormers kick for touch and the line out.

15.00: The Stormers win the line out and drive over the line. TRY! Nizaam Carr is the tryscorer. Bismarck du Plessis is livid as the referee did not go upstairs.

16.00: Kurt Coleman slots the conversion.

17.00: JP Pietersen goes up to take the restart and collides with Duane Vermeulen and goes straight down. He is out cold ! Tonderai Chavhanga comes on for JP.Pietersen.

19.00: The Sharks have the ball in the Stormers 22. They try to attack but get pushed out.

21.00: The Sharks win a penalty. Steyn takes a penalty shot and nails it.

25.00: The Sharks are awarded another penalty. Steyn slots it again and the Sharks lead.

28.00: Yet another penalty. Steyn bangs it over.

31.00: The Stormers win a scrum and run it. They are stopped so they go back and kick. They chip and chase but the Sharks turn the ball over and kick it back. This continues until Jaco Taute kicks the ball into touch.

34.00: The Stormers win a penalty for offside. Coleman takes the kick and nails it.

37.00: The Sharks win a scrum on the half way line. They kick and chase and Paul Jordaan wins the race and dots the ball down JUST before it hits the dead ball line. TRY!

38.00: Frans Steyn takes the conversion kick and slots it.

39.00: Penalty to the Stormers for offside Jannie du Plessis. Coleman lines up the kick and he misses.

The whistle goes for half time. It is half time.

The half time score was Stormers 10 Sharks 19

The Stormers kick off and we are underway with the second half.  Siya Kolisi has come on for Duanne Vermeulen.

42.00: The Stormers concede a penalty just outside their 22. The Sharks will kick for posts.  

44.00: Steyn slots the penalty and extends the lead.

47.00: The Stormers run the ball a little then kick upfield. The Sharks kick the ball back and the Sharks kick it back and out.

49.00: The Stormers win the line out and move the ball wide but Taute plays the ball on the ground and gives away a penalty.

52.00: The Stormers win a penalty for tackler not rolling away. They kick for touch.

54.00: Lourens Adriaanse comes on for Jannie du Plessis. The Stormers make ground into the Stormers 22. The Sharks come in at the side on the maul and give a penalty away. Stormers kick for touch.

55.00: The Stormers win the line out. They have the advantage and then another penalty. Lourens Adriaanse exchanges blows with Schalk Burger. Peter Grant kicks for touch. The Sharks are on a warning.

56.00: The Stormers win the line out and set the maul. The Sharks push the maul back and it breaks up.

61.00: The Sharks defend several Stormers attacks in their 22. This is giving them great practice for knockout rugby.

63.00: A big fight breaks out between the teams. It takes some time to sort it all out. After several replays the Sharks get a penalty for Schalk Burger entering the ruck with his shoulder. They kick for touch.

65.00: Nic Groom makes a break for the Stormers. He gets the Stormers back into the Sharks 22. They go wide but the passing is poor and the momentum is lost.

66.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Bismarck du Plessis shouts at referee Jaco Peyper in disagreement.

69.00: Bismarck du Plessis gets some help from the medics with his neck which has been troubling him all match. The Stormers are doing all of the attacking. The Sharks can only defend.

71.00: 44% of the second half has been played in the Sharks 22.

73.00: Kyle Cooper comes on for the Sharks.

74.00: The Sharks win a penalty for offside. They kick for touch. Schalk Burger has been involved in plenty of off the ball thuggery.

75.00: The Sharks break out in centre-field and use their pace and  S’bura Sithole races for the line and scores. TRY! He got the ball from Tonderai Chavhanga.

76.00: Steyn converts the try.

77.00: Zeilinga chips ahead and Jordaan chases and almost gets through. He is caught and the Stormers counter attack. The ball goes out after a couple of recycles.

79.00: The Stormers have a scrum inside the Sharks half. The Stormers win the scrum and pass to Aplon at pace. The Sharks turn the ball over and Stefan Ungerer races for the line and scores. TRY!

80.00: Zeilinga fails to convert.

The siren goes. That is it.

The full time score is Stormers 10 (10) Sharks 34 (19)


Tries – Nizaam Carr
Pen – K.Coleman
Con – K.Coleman
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – P.Jordaan,  S. Sithole , S.Ungerer
Pen – F.Steyn 5
Con – F.Steyn 2
Drop –
Cards – W.Alberts (14th min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1: Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant Ref 2: Quinton Immelman
TMO:Deon van Blommestein



15. Jaco Taute , 14. Gio Aplon , 13. Sailosi Tagicakibau , 12. Juan de Jongh , 11. Cheslin Kolbe , 10. Kurt Coleman , 9. Nic Groom , 8. Duane Vermeulen , 7. Schalk Burger (captain) , 6. Nizaam Carr , 5. Ruan Botha , 4. Michael Rhodes , 3. Pat Cilliers , 2. Tiaan Liebenberg , 1. Alistair Vermaak

Replacements: 16. Stephan Coetzee , 17. Sti Sithole , 18. Martin Dreyer , 19. Manuel Carizza , 20. Siya Kolisi , 21. Louis Schreuder , 22. Peter Grant , 23. Seabelo Senatla


15. SP Marais, 14. S’bura Sithole , 13. JP Pietersen , 12. Paul Jordaan, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Francois Steyn , 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Willem Alberts , 6. Maroetzee , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Anton Bresler , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Thomas du Toit

Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Etienne Oosthuizen, 20. Jean Deysel , 21. Stefan Ungerer, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Tonderai Chavhanga

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.