Sharks come from behind to beat the Force





The Sharks had to come from behind in their 15-9 Super Rugby victory over the
Western Force at Kings Park in Durban.

The result extends the Sharks winning streak over the Force to seven straight
wins against the Western Australia based side who led for most of the match.

The match was the Sharks third consecutive victory but was anything but a spectacle
for the Durban fans as it was an error-strewn affair throughout.

Despite being outplayed for much of the game at Kings Park stadium, Sharks
bagged four points and climbed four places to third on the table and dropped
the Stormers to sixth.

The Sharks crossed the try-line twice during the second half through full-back
SP Marais and left-wing Lwazi Mvovo.

Replacement fly-half Fred Zeilinga converted one and slotted a penalty after
taking over the goal-kicking duties from original playmaker Francois Steyn.

The South Africans also tormented the Australians at many scrums, despite the
absence of banned hooker and skipper Bismarck du Plessis.

But they were embarrassingly poor in many other facets of the game and won
only one third of the possession in a game that will quickly be forgotten by
both teams.

Beaten by a last-minute penalty from Northern Bulls ace points scorer Handre
Pollard last weekend, Force once again were left wondering how they lost.

Coach Michael Foley and his squad take two losing bonus points back to Perth,
but it could have been eight from two victories with more clinical finishing
and a little luck.

South Africa-born fly-half Sias Ebersohn kicked two penalty goals for the Force
and centre Luke Burton succeeded with the late kick at goal that secured the
bonus point.

The Force, suffering a sixth straight loss after shocking title-holders the
Waratahs in the opening round, had two tries disallowed by New Zealand referee
Nic Briant.

While TV replays suggested loose forward Ben McCalman had scored a legitimate
pushover try in the opening half, the television match official told the referee
he was unsure.

The match officials were correct to disallow a score by another loose forward,
Sam Mafi, with 12 minutes left as McCalman obstructed a would-be Shark tackler.

The pick-and-go style of the visitors helped bring them close to the try-line,
but the Sharks always managed to keep the Australians out.

Ebersohn slotted two penalties from three attempts to leave the Force 6-0 ahead
at half-time after one of the worst halves in Super Rugby history.

A blindside break by scrum-half Conrad Hoffman triggered a movement that ended
with Marais diving over in the corner for a try three minutes into the second

Zeilinga kicked a penalty just past the hour to nudge the Sharks into an 8-6
advantage and then came two minutes that settled the outcome.

Ebersohn fluffed a simple penalty attempt and Sharks hit back with a Marais
break that set up Mvovo to dive over and Zeilinga converted.

Final Score’Sharks 15 (0) Force 9 (6)


Tries – S.P.Marais, L.Mvovo
Pen – F.Zeilinga
Con – F.Zelinga
Drop -‘
Cards –

Tries -‘
Pen – S.Ebersohn 2, L.Burton
Con -‘
Drop -‘
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee:’Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1:Jason Jaftha
Assistant Ref 2:Quinton Immelman
TMO’:Marius Jonker



15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. JP Pietersen , 12. Andre Esterhuizen , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Frans Steyn , 9. Conrad Hoffmann , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel (c) , 6. Renaldo Bothma , 5. Marco Wentzel , 4. Mouritz Botha , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Monde Hadebe , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda , 20. Daniel du Preez , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Fred Zeilinga , 23. Waylon Murray

Western Force

1. Pekahou Cowan , 2. Nathan Charles , 3. Tetera Faulkner , 4. Sam Wykes (c) , 5. Adam Coleman , 6. Steve Mafi , 7. Kane Koteka , 8. Ben McCalman , 9. Alby Mathewson , 10. Sias Ebersohn , 11. Nick Cummins , 12. Luke Burton , 13. Kyle Godwin , 14. Marcel Brache , 15. Luke Morahan

Replacements : 16. Heath Tessmann , 17. Chris Heiberg , 18. Oliver Hoskins , 19. Wilhelm Steenkamp , 20. Angus Cottrell , 21. Ian Prior , 22. Zack Holmes , 23. Dane Haylett-Petty

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.