Super Rugby

Sharks keep Bosch at 10 for Crusaders




Sharks Super rugby head coach Robert du Preez has retained Curwin Bosch at flyhalf for Friday’s match against the Crusaders in Christchurch.

The Sharks will head for New Zealand with some confidence after beating the head coach Du Preez has asked his team to deliver more of the same against the Crusaders.

The Sharks coach has not tinkered too much with last week’s successful side, making just a couple of changes to the team playing the Crusaders.

Thomas du Toit will revert to the loosehead side of the scrum in place of Beast Mtawarira, who has returned home with an MCL injury to his left knee.

Mtawarira will be sent for scans to determine the extent of his injury. Khutha Mchunu has joined the team as the replacement prop.

Coenie Oosthuizen starts at tighthead while Ruan Botha, after making his comeback from injury last week off the bench will start this match with Hyron Andrews given respite after a sustained period of rugby, although he has been named amongst the reserves.

There is just one change in the backline, Louis Schreuder returning to the starting line-up and taking back the captaincy armband worn by Beast Mtawarira against the Waratahs.

Like last week, it’s all about pressuring the opposition and focusing for 80 minutes.

“We played really well and were in control of the game, dominating them,” said du Preez in the lead-up to this match.

Ball handling might have let the side down previously, but in the match against the Waratahs there was a much-improved performance and this week, against the Crusaders, the coach will be looking for more of the same.

“The conditions are a lot better here and not as humid as in Durban, but we have been working on handling and our basics and the message this week is ‘back to basics'”.


15. Aphelele Fassi 14. Sbu Nkosi 13. Lukhanyo Am 12. Andre Esterhuizen 11. Makazole Mapimpi 10. Curwin Bosch 9. Louis Schreuder (c) 8. Daniel du Preez 7. Jean-Luc du Preez 6. Philip van der Walt 5. Ruan Botha 4. Ruben van Heerden 3. Coenie Oosthuizen 2. Kerron van Vuuren 1. Thomas du Toit

Replacements : 16. Akker van der Merwe 17. Mzamo Majola 18. John-Hubert Meyer 19. Hyron Andrews 20. Jacques Vermeulen 21. Cameron Wright 22. Robert du Preez 23. Marius Louw

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.