Sharks leave it late against Cheetahs



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |




The Sharks will no doubt be chuffed to be back in Durban after they long and disappointing tour of Australasia. They have slipped to sixth place and are three points behind the Stormers but their points differential is 28 behind the Stormers which could come back to haunt them later.

Saturday May 10
Absa Stadium, Durban
Sharks vs Cheetahs in Durban
Willie Roos (South Africa)
Assistant Referee: JC Fortuin (South Africa), Pro Legoete (South Africa)
TMO: Michael Cupido (South Africa)
Assessor: Banks Yantolo (South Africa)
Head-to-Head: Played 3, Cheetahs 2, Sharks 1
In Durban: Played 1, Cheetahs 1, Sharks 0
Last season: Round 6, March 10 2007: Sharks 30-14 Cheetahs at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein


Match Detail


0.00: We are waiting for the kick off.


8.00: In a bizarre couple of minutes Conrad Barnard  kicked for the posts for a penalty. The ball hit the posts and bounced back. The Sharks then kicked the ball up and Kankowski chases the ball up and pushes Nokwe off the ball and Ndungane scores a try which is then ruled out for Kankowski’s push on Ndungane.


12.00: Cheetah Rory Duncan is sent to the bin for a high tackle on Rory Kockott.


14.00: Using the numbers the Sharks pack drives the maul over the line and Jacques Botes scores the try.


15.00: Rory Kockott converts the try.


27.00: Again the Sharks drive over the line and again Jacques Botes scores a try.


27.00: Again Rory Kockott converts the try.


38.00: Francois Steyn has another one of his famously awful drop kicks which goes nowhere at all.


39.00: Ruan Pienaar tries to show Francois Steyn how it’s done and tries a drop goal and this one misses too.


39.00: The Sharks defence goes to sleep and Jongi Nokwe runs in to score the Cheetahs first try.


40.00: Conrad Barnard slots the conversion.


The Half time score is Sharks 14 Cheetahs 7


The second half is underway.


46.00: JP Pietersen comes oh so close to scoring his first try of the year but he is caught just outside the tryline and he passes to Jacques Botes who runs in his third try.


The Sharks are now in the hunt for a bonus point try. 


47.00: Rory Kockott missed the conversion.


59.00: Albert van den Berg is sent to the bin for 10 minutes.


61.00: Beast Mtawarira of the Sharks is given a verbal warning for tackling without arms.


62.00: The Beast tries to make up for his past mistake and breaks down the wing but is stopped by the Cheetahs.


65.00: Meyer Bosman picks up the ball and runs untouched to the line to score the Cheetahs second try. JP Pietersen is not fast enough to catch him.


66.00:  Tewis de Bruyn slots the conversison.


68.00: The Sharks are awarded a scrum 5m out for a knock-on. The Sharks send on five replacements in order to tie up the game.


69.00: The Cheetahs are doing their best to stop the Sharks from getting their bonus point try and to go on and win the match.


73.00: Juan Smith makes a great break and looks to be away to score a try but the Sharks defence stops him.


74.00: Frans Steyn is bungled into touch as the Sharks realise that they need to win the match now and they throw everything at the Cheetahs. Keegan Daniel knocks on just 5m out.


76.00: The Sharks are constantly in the Cheetahs half but repeatedly fumble the ball or they are caught by the Cheetahs defence.


78.00: The Cheetahs go on attack but they turn the ball over and  Odwa Ndungane blasts through to score the bonus point try for the Sharks.


79.00: Rory Kockott slots the conversion.


80.00: Ryan Kankowski breaks free on the wing and Odwa Ndungane gets the ball and he runs in a second try in two minutes.


81.00: Rory Kockott slots the conversion and the whistle goes.


The Full time Score is Sharks 33 Cheetahs 14


Full report to follow.





Tries – Jacques Botes (3) Odwa Ndungane (2)
Pen –
Con – Rory Kockott (4)
Cards – Albert van den Berg 59 (yellow)



Tries – Jongi Nokwe,Meyer Bosman
Pen –
Con – Conrad Barnard, Tewis de Bruyn

Cards – Rory Duncan 12 (yellow)



Sharks Squad is:

Beast Mtawarira, Deon Carstens, Craig Burden, Bismarck du Plessis, BJ Botha, Jannie du Plessis, Johann Muller, Albert van den Berg, Steven Sykes, Johan Ackermann, Jacques Botes, Keegan Daniel, AJ Venter, Jean Deysel, Ryan Kankowski

Rory Kockott, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Waylon Murray, Bradley Barritt, Adi Jacobs, Francois Steyn, Odwa Ndungane, Henno Mentz, Stefan Terblanche.


Hennie Daniller, Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe, Conrad Barnard, Falie Oelschig, Duanne Vermeulen, Juan Smith (capt.), Heinrich Brussow, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, CJ van der Linde, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, David de Villiers, Hendro Scholtz, Tewis de Bruyn, Bevin Fortuin, Hendrik Meyer.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.