Sharks lose second match in a row



Super rugby unlocked : SR standings | SR unlocked fixtures | TriNations : TriNations standings | TriNations fixtures |


This was a live score update – Full report to follow.





Essentially this is the battle for second place. If the Waratahs win it will be their fifth win on the trot after they have won their last four matches and are undefeated at home in 2008 with five victories from as many starts.

Saturday April 26
Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Steve Walsh (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Chris Pollock (New Zealand), Grant MacNeill (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)
Assessor: Scott Young (Australia),
Performance Auditor : Lusanda Menze (South Africa)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Waratahs 6, Sharks 5, Drawn 1
In Sydney: Played 6, Waratahs 4, Sharks 2
Last season: Round 2, February 10 2007: Sharks 22-9 Waratahs at Absa Stadium, Durban


Match Detail


The Sharks suffered a blow in that just ahead of the match they lost captain Johann Muller to injury. AJ Venter came in a captain.


0.00 We are waiting for the kick off.


The match is underway.


9.44: Freddie  Michalak takes a knock on his knee and goes down. He limps off.


11.00: The Waratahs get a penalty so Lote Tuqiri – yes Lote Tuqiri takes the penalty kick and slots it – Orange boots and all !


22.00: The Match is largely being dominated by the Tahs but the Sharks defence is sucking up the Tahs preventing them from scoring.


31.00: Dean Mumm gets a verbal warning.


37.00: The Sharks give another penalty away and again Lote Tuqiri takes the kick from way out and near the touch line. This time it’s no good.


40.02: The siren goes for half time.  


The half time score is Waratahs 3 Sharks 0


The second half is underway.


48.00: The Waratahs scored the first try of the match and the first points of the second half as Sam Norton-Knight slammed the ball down as JP Pietersen put in waht would normally have been a try saving tackle.


48.00: Kurtley Beale’s conversion just faded to the right of the posts.


51.00: Francois Steyn has a shot at goal for a penalty from way out and luckily for the Sharks it bounces in off the posts.


54.00: Wycliff Palu shows his power and strength  to score a try after a thumping tackle on AJ Venter.


55.00: Kurtley Beale slotted the conversion.


58.00: Kurtley Beale puts in a great chip for Tom Carter who runs in to score the Tah’s third try.


The Waratahs are now in the hunt for the bonus point try.


59.00: Kurtley Beale missed the conversion.


60.00: JP Pietersen gets off lucky as he “Takes Out” Lote Tuqiri both in the air. Pietersen was watching the ball.


62.00 :Kurtley Beale tries to keep the scoreboard ticking and tries for the drop goal but misses.


65.00: The Waratahs start to run away with the match as Wycliff Palu charges for the line and scores his second try and the bonus point try for the Waratahs.


66.00: Kurtley Beale again misses the conversion.


75.00: The Sharks finally get a try as Odwa Ndungane gets the pass from Ryan Kankowski who did all the work really.


76.00: The try is converted by Rory Kockott. 


80.00: The Sharks finish well but the siren sounds ending the match.


Full time score is Waratahs 25 Sharks 10


Full report to follow.





Tries – Sam Norton-Knight ,Wycliff Palu (2), Tom Carter

Pen – Lote Tuqiri

Con – Kurtley Beale



Tries –  Odwa Ndungane

Pen – Francois Steyn

Con – Rory Kockott




1. Benn Robinson, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Matt Dunning*, 4. Will Caldwell, 5. Dan Vickerman, 6. Dean Mumm, 7. Phil Waugh [c], 8. Wycliff Palu, 9. Luke Burgess, 10. Kurtley Beale, 11. Lote Tuqiri, 12. Tom Carter, 13. Rob Horne, 14. Lachie Turner, 15. Sam Norton-Knight

Reserves: 16. Adam Freier, 17. Al Baxter , 18. David Lyons, 19. Beau Robinson, 20. Brett Sheehan, 21. Matt Carraro, 22. Alfi Mafi
* 95th NSW Cap (fifth all-time)


15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray/Bradley Barritt, 12. Francois Steyn, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jacques Botes, 6. Keegan Daniel, 5. AJ Venter(Captain), 4. Albert van den Berg, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Reserves: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Deon Carstens, 18. BJ Botha, 19. A.N.Other ,20. Jean Deysel, 21. Ruan Pienaar, 22. Adrian Jacobs.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.