Sharks make big changes for Lions clash





Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold has named his team to play the Lions at
Ellis Park on Saturday and made big changes to the side.

There is a new captain in Marco Wentzel as Patrick Lambie has been replaced
for this week’s trip to Johannesburg by Fred Zeilinga due to injury.

Etienne Oosthuizen and Willem Alberts are both back in the Sharks line up having
recovered from injury and both will come of the bench.

Odwa Ndungane has been named at fullback, replacing SP Marias who gets a rest
after starting all eight matches to date. This sees the return of S’bura Sithole
on the wing, with Fred Zeilinga replacing the injured Pat Lambie in the final
change to the backline.

Upfront, there is an overhaul with Lourens Adriaanse, Franco Marais and Dale
Chadwick packing down in the front row after Jannie du Plessis and Beast Mtawarira
were rested, while Renaldo Bothma replaces Jean Deysel in the final change.

“Our performance this past weekend was unacceptable and we have taken
full responsibility for the result and are determined to fix it this weekend,”
said Director of Rugby, Gary Gold.

“I believe in these players, we have a great group of guys. We are just
not playing well at the moment and nobody can deny that. We are just going to
have to show some character. We are going to have to step up to the plate. It
is as simple as that.

“The Lions are playing some fantastic rugby and have come off a great
tour. We are under no illusions about the toughness of the task on Saturday;
however, in saying that, we have worked extremely hard this week and are determined
to get our campaign back on track.”


15. Odwa Ndungane , 14. S’bura Sithole , 13. Waylon Murray , 12. Andre Esterhuizen
, 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Fred Zeilinga , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski
, 7. Renaldo Bothma , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Marco Wentzel (Captain) , 4. Mouritz
Botha , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Dale Chadwick

Replacements , 16. Monde Hadebe , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Matt Stevens , 19.
Etienne Oosthuizen , 20. Willem Alberts , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Lionel Cronje
, 23. Jack Wilson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.