Sharks name 2015 Super Rugby leadership group





Durban based Super Rugby franchise the Sharks have announced their leadership
group for the 2015 Super Rugby season with Bismarck du Plessis remaining as
squad captain.

The Sharks leadership group is made up of four players who will make up the
core leadership group allowing the team to place a strong focus on player management
and rotation.

Squad captain Du Plessis has won an impressive 120 Super Rugby caps for the
Sharks and has been a standout performer for the team over the years.

Now into his 11th campaign, he brings a wealth of experience at Super
Rugby level and a Rugby World Cup winners’ medal (2007) together with
70 caps at Springbok level.

He will be ably supported by flyhalf Patrick Lambie who is a match winner
and natural leader in his own right.

He too has Rugby World Cup experience, being a key member of the 2011 Springbok
squad and has accumulated an impressive 40 Test caps since making his debut
in 2010, at just 20 years of age. He brings calmness and composure to the team
environment and is certainly an asset to the team.

Last year’s Currie Cup captain, Tera Mtembu, who impressed in his
first campaign in a leadership role, also forms part of the group. He has displayed
a natural flair for the role and is a player who leads by example. His steady
rise through the ranks will certainly motivate the younger players in the group
to aim for bigger honours.

Completing the quartet is the colossal Frans Steyn, who, at just 27 years
of age, is about to embark on his 10th year of professional rugby, a career
that has taken him to Durban, France, Japan and back to Durban, through two
Rugby World Cups and 53 Test matches for the Springboks.

Like the other three players in the core leadership group, he commands respect
from both team-mates and opposition alike.

Commenting on his decision, The Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold said,”The way the modern game is going it is not about individuals but a group
of leaders who share ideas and work together as a team in order to achieve the
desired results.

“These four players have proven their leadership ability and commitment
to the Sharks over the years and they will be able to rally the group
and get the best out of their teammates.”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.